28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family liked this cake and it made a nice breakfast cake. I made it for our Sunday breakfast and the kids had fun helping me make it and then eating it. My family isn't as crazy for nuts in their cakes and that was the only complaint, but that was a personal thing. I thought the nuts were good. What do they know? Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will make it again in the future. (a boring nutless one for my husband and children and then the good nut filled kind for me!!!)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dayla October 20, 2002

mmm... very tasty.. loved this... nice and moist... this didn't last long!! ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meli-lynne October 19, 2009

This coffee cake was easy and tastes great. My topping was not crumbly because it kind of baked into the cake, but the taste was great nonetheless. I will definitely make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Desert Dweller September 12, 2009

This was awesome. Took it to work today and it is all gone. I did follow one person's review to mix flour and butter in the topping. Left out the nuts and put a light glaze on it. Thanks for a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yourrose99 September 04, 2009

This was delicious! I think I would like to add a little more cinnamon next time and toast the pecans a little before cooking. So moist and tender! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook a ramma momma July 13, 2009

This was a very tasty coffee cake and we all enjoyed it. It wasn't quite as light and fluffy as I'd hoped even though I was careful not to overmix the batter. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 June 25, 2009

Wonderful cake... light, fluffy, tasted great! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Roes June 07, 2009

I also left out the nuts for the topping, as I did not have any. I did add 1Tbsp flour and 1 Tbsp stick butter and made the toppping that way - crumbled it up. Everything else I left the same - It was great. Even my son who is super picky even loved it! Thanks for a nice coffee cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharkkool May 03, 2009

I added cinnamon to the batter after reading some of the reviews. I love it, so there is never too much in my book. I also used pecans for the topping which tasted great! This is a really nice flavored coffee cake that wasn't overly sweet and with the sweetness of the topping it was delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karens2kids April 30, 2009

Easy and delicious! I left out the nuts, since I didn't have any and added 1 tsp. cinnamon to the dry ingredients like another reviewer suggested. This one is a definite keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auntie Jojo April 14, 2009
Harry's Coffee Break Cinnamon Cake