Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Harry & Davids Sweet and Hot Pepper and Onion Relish Clone Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Harry & Davids Sweet and Hot Pepper and Onion Relish Clone

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2012

      Love this recipe! I have made it several times and each time it came out wonderful. Here are a few suggestions. I like it with a little more heat so I use about 12-16 jalapeno peppers. Also, if you like Harry & Davids Hot & Smokey Pepper and Onion relish, try adding a 7 oz can of Chipotle peppers with Adobo sauce to the recipe. Also, I have had great luck using 5 - 14 oz. cans of stewed diced tomatoes. One other quick note: I have found that if you take your time with the cooking, allowing it to thicken through evaporation, that the pectin may not be necessary. Just test it on a small plate that has been in the freezer for a few minutes and see if it is thick enough. Just be sure to go low and slow and stir more frequently as it thickens to prevent scorching.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Great! Made it several times. Wasn't spicy enough for me so I increased the Jalapenos from 2 to 6 and added 2 T red pepper flakes. Also I ran out in the middle of winter and Substituted 5, 14.5 oz. cans of drained diced tomatoes and it worked just fine. Pour it over Pork Tenderloin and Roast it. To Die For!!! Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      After tasting this recipe I couldn't wait to make my own batch. I followed the recipe to the letter, except I used two boxes of pectin. Two boxes only gives you 3.5 oz. The recipe calls for 4 oz. Mistake on my part! The relish was too soupy! Here is the good news. If you purchase Ball Instant Pectin for no-cook freezer jam you can thicken the relish jar by jar as you use it. I added 1 tablespoon of this pectin to a 12 oz jar. Stir it in completely and refrigerate. It thickens up nicely. Breaking the seal ruins plans to give the jars as gifts, but it solves the problem for your own enjoyment. I plan to use 3 boxes of pectin in my next batch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      I live in Wyoming and don't have a H&D store close by. Being high altitude, I do have to boil it for about 4 hours before adding pectin and canning but it's so worth the time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Just got done canning this one! Oh baby! The little sample I had left that wouldn't fit in a jar was just sampled and it is just as good or better than the original. I am going to be Mom's favorite this year! The only difference I made is more peppers. I put in six Cherry Peppers that were seeded and then put in about 10 jalapenos, half seeds and half without. I also had two packages of Red Hots so those went in as well. The sample I am enjoying is spiced just right! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2014

      I made this last year, and I as well had trouble getting it to set up. With lots of research this year I added a can of tomato paste. I was thrilled it is perfect!!! It also gave it a richer color. I am very pleased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2014

      I just made this with overripe garden tomatoes, and lots of hot peppers. Oh My!! Mine turned out hot! I used about 8 jalapenos with seeds and then some green cayenne peppers. Anyway, it is great - a true kick!! Only put in one pack of liquid pectin, and it is a bit thin, but I'm ok with that. I am thrilled to have found a copy cat for our favorite dip relish!! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      I have successfully made at least 75 jars of this and have never had a problem with it setting up. Family and friends request if 3 and 4 jars at a time. I have not tried this with canned tomatoes but I'm down to 3 jars now and am considering giving it a try. Half the jar mixed with 8 oz cream cheese is still the most requested way to enjoy this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      This stuff is wonderful!! I found this recipe after having such a great year with my pepper plants. I love anything spicy! So my first batch I added 12 jalapenos (most of them I left the seeds in) and still not as hot as I like it. I have served this with cream cheese and crackers to a couple of cookouts and it was a hit! Currently, I am cooking up my next batch and added one habanero and part of a bhut jolokia. Hopefully it will be hot enough. To those who aren't having much luck with getting it to set up.. make sure you cook the mixture for at least 2 1/2 hours. It set up wonderfully for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      Have been waiting all summer to make this. Finally with all of the fresh produce from the local farmer's stand and the home garden, my husband and I spent most of our Sunday cooking up
      a batch. This morning I ran down to the kitchen very excited to see that all the cans had sealed
      but the relish did not set. The jars all look very soupy. I will continue to look at other reviews
      to see if this is something I can fix with my next batch. Tastes great though....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      I have made this recipe twice and my cousin once. We cannot get it to set up with either powdered or liquid pectin. I cut down the liquid from the tomatoes the second time I made it and it is still just a syrup. Taste is amazing, wish it would set up! Water canned for 15 minutes since the recipe has so much acid and sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Awesome! Tastes just like the expensive H&D stuff! I did have a little trouble with it - too much liquid to pulp and it didn't thicken. However, I only made it last night so it might still set. Will update if it does. Will try again with less juicy tomatoes...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Love this - made several batches last summer, and gave most away, although I hoarded a little as my jars dwindled. Will make multiple batches again this summer. I'd say add spice to taste - I used a couple of thai hot peppers in each batch last year, and that cranked things up - but didn't plant those this year - I'll use whatever the garden gives up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      This was the best. I gave this for gifts and everyone wanted more. I will increase hot pepper as it was not hot enough. I serve this on ritz crackers on top of cream cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Just made this one this afternoon, and it was excellent! At the suggestion of the other reviewer, I used 6 jalapenos (1 with seeds, 5 seeded) and added 1 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes. I used all of my tomatoes to make spaghetti sauce today, so I used 5 14.5oz cans of diced tomatoes instead of fresh. All told, I ended up with 16 half pint-size jars and 1 extra pint (that I didn't process) to use this evening. The half-pints were processed in a hot water bath for 10 minutes. I would definitely make this again. My husband's family are addicted to the Harry & David's relish -- I can't wait to see what they think of this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Harry & Davids Sweet and Hot Pepper and Onion Relish Clone

    Serving Size: 1 (5011 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1058.1
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    65%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2049.4 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 265.1 g
    88%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 241.4 g
    965%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites