16 Reviews

Oh my goodness! This was a fantastic soup. The flavors combinations are delicious. The only thing I changed was the cooking technique. As the spice mixture is very similar to what Indian's use, I used my mothers method for cooking just about anything. Saute onions for a few minutes, then add spices, cook a few minutes more-until the oils have released then continue as directed. It came out beautifully! Thanks for a great simple recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RehReh February 20, 2008

I hate to give such an average rating; but, it smelled sooo delicious; but, i found the flavour really disappointed. I went through every review adding any extras that others have added & still felt the flavour's just didn't add up to a great recipe. sorry. the stew was edible; but, i won't try it again. sorry :(

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
um-um-good January 07, 2009

This was my 1st attempt in making this dish - and we LOVED it! I used bone-in lamb pieces, added 2 cloves garlic, used red lentils instead of green and skipped the eggs. Also, I first sauteed the onions and garlic just to brown it up a bit and then added in the spices, lamb and salt, then carried on as per the recipe. DH, who avoids lentils like the plague, did not whinge! Next time, I shall add in a few strands of saffron and maybe try to spice it up a bit more by adding ground cumin and coriander. Thank you, Mirj, for sharing this wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum December 03, 2007

I did like this stew, however I felt a few things were lacking. For one, this recipe does not call for salt, so I think it would be better to salt the lamb cubes before adding them to the pot. Also, The recipe asks you to throw mostly everything in at once, I would suggest sauteing the onions first, then add seasoned lamb and brown, then follow the the remailing ingredients.(I also added three garlic cloves, I can't imagine eating lamb without garlic) I used olive oil instead of butter (lamb is fatty enough). In the future I think I will use lamb that still has the bone. I used boneless leg of lamb and both my husband and I were dissappointed that we could not taste much of the lamb in this "Lamb Stew" I do think that the bone would have imparted more flavor. I also omited the vermicelli since the soup has enough starch with the lentils and garbanzos. All in all I think it is a good recipe and I would make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theAmateurPastryChef August 28, 2007

After staring at the picture I noticed (upper right hand corner) that there are carrots in it! <br/> I added them (3) along with salt and garlic. I also used buckwheat noodles (soba) instead of vermicelli. Definitely will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sushied September 06, 2013

During cooking I added some salt. I didn't add in the chickpeas, cilantro, or the eggs, and it still came out very good. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ummrabiah September 09, 2008

Wow! It's delicious. I followed the recipe except for the water - I replaced with one cup of red wine, 14 oz of beef broth and 2 cups of water. I also added about 1.5 tablespoon of salt. I cooked the vermicelli separately and added as desired. YUMMY! The spices are flavorful but not hot. Our whole family enjoyed it and all gave it a hearty five stars. My daughter asked me to pack it in her lunch tomorrow. Thank you Mirj for another great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 March 31, 2008

First, I apologize for changing this recipe a bit. However, as written, it rates more than 5 stars. I was looking for something out of the ordinary for Sunday dinner and this recipe sounded good but I didn't want it in stew form. I wanted to serve over rice. Therefore, I used only 3 cups of liquid (chicken broth)and also omitted the vermicelli. I don't like the looks of stringy egg floating in my food so omitted it also. These changes in no way took away from the wonderful flavor of the seasoning. Served over fluffy Basmati Rice along with Naan and a Cucumber/yoghurt salad made for a very tasty Sunday dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gloria in Tampa February 03, 2008

i really love harira and was looking for a good recipe for a while now, i used to eat it loads during ramadan in my friends house who is morocan. i made it yesterday and mmmmmm i loved it! i added some cumin, about 1tbs tomato puree,1 tsp curry powder and some harissa for a little spicey kick. but other than that i followed the recipe properly :) thanks for sharing!! i will be making it loads more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ummadam January 18, 2008

I didn't know what this was suuposed to taste like, so I followed the directions almost exactle. (I forgot to buy the garbonzo beans. Very tasty, unique sort of dish. I'll make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michael Boyd January 02, 2008
Harira - Moroccan Lamb Stew