Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Harira - Chickpea and Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Harira - Chickpea and Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2011

      I like this version. I threw in some carrots for DS and a few other veggies I had to use up. I didn't blend just because we like the broth in this dish. THank You Made for ZWT 7.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      Excellent!! I halved the cinnamon and doubled the cumin, blended everything and served with bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      Very good! But I had to add quite a lot of salt (just because I'm so used to salty soups :/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      A solid hit at home, not quite a homerun with all, but one I can trot out again. Loved cooking the herbs with the broth - added such nice flavor to it. I did not have fresh parsley, threw in a bunch of dried, and then just strained it all. I used yellow lentils, and it looked so pretty with the red and yellow - I may not puree it at all next time. Used a bit less cinnamon, as I was not sure just how that would go over and it probably would have been ok as written. I love lentils, and this is yet another lovely way of using them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      I made this for the DM and myself for lunch with the idea of blending the left overs well we were enjoying it so much we polished of the lot and were chockas to say the least but very happily so. I just gave it a quick stab with the stick blender to smooth out some of the ingredients but left it mainly chunky and all the flavours justed played on one another and every mouthful was a pleasure to the senses, thank you Deantini, made for ZAAR Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      I really liked this more than I thought I would. I blended all of it because I wanted my kids to try it. I made a substitution based on what I had. Instead of regular canned tomatoes I used a can of tomatoes and peppers. It was too hot for us. I can't wait to make it again using regular tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      Wonderfool soup! I could not expect better chickpeas soup.
      I did not use the blender as I love texture (see my photo!). Sooo delicious! Really a keeper!
      I think the best chickpeas soup I ever tried!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Yum, but preferred without the additional cinnamon on top! DD (toddler) enjoyed this too. I liked the lemon slice garnish it added much more to the flavour and I would not leave it off. I used red lentils as well. I used Betty Crocker's Classic Chicken Broth, less chickpeas as I was using the rest of a 19 oz can, freshly squeezed lemon juice, unrefined extra virgin olive oil, plus the rest except the optional date garnish as I didn't have any on hand! Made for Went to the Market Tag Game - Winter 2010/11.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      awesome

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      I loved this dish. The cilantro was just the perfect amount, especially set against the touch of sweet spice from the whole cinnamon stick. I can't think of a thing that would improve this dish. I'll definitely make this again, and I wouldn't change a thing about it. Made for Zaar World Tour #6 for the Seasoned Sailor and his Sassy Sirens team.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Gorgeous, just left out the turmeric as didn't have any. Thank you! Update 2010: Made again for ZWT6. This time I added the tumeric and it was even better! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      didnt use as much parsley or cilantro great soup this is very good i didnt have the cinnamon stick in very long cause it was smelling real cinnamony , and i just wanted a hint in the soup zaar 6 tour

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Probably the nicest lentil soup I have ever tasted, and so very easy to make. I used red lentils and all the spices. My tins of tomatoes and chickpeas were each 14 ounces and I used all of both (including the juice of the tomatoes but not the liquid from the chickpeas). Although I love cinnamon, I worried that it might overpower the other flavours but it didn't. I hope everyone makes this comforting soup. It really is special. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      This is definitely an unusual soup for my table, & a great conversation starter, too! I made it as written & included the 3 garnishes! Loved the blended flavors & the ease of preparation, & will make this one again! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Harira - Chickpea and Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (543 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.2
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    19%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 961.0 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 14.5 g
    58%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes