Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Haricot Vert - French Green Beans With Garlic and Sliced Almonds Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Haricot Vert - French Green Beans With Garlic and Sliced Almonds

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2013

      Very good. I used frozen green beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      This is an excellent recipe. I plan to use it a lot. It is simple and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      this is a great quick side, easy to make while your main dish is in the oven or on the grill. just be careful not to burn the garlic or it will be bitter! ive also used wine when i don't have broth if i want a little more flavor than water. Tastes great! And don't skip the almonds! I now buy slivered almonds just for this recipe but have found in a pinch crushing up some whole almonds works ok too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

      Simple combination, but works really well together. I cut the oil back to a half tablespoon and omitted the liquid. I loved how garlic-y these were!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

      I loved this recipe! I actually didn't use haricot verts as my grocery store didn't have them so I just used regular green beans. I will be making this again and again! Thanks for posting. Made for the casual Veg N swap tag for December 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Great recipe. I had 8 ounces of Hericot Verts on hand so I only added about a tablespoon of water at the end -- it was not watery at all. Seasoning with course sea salt is a must. Overall, very simple, healthy and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      This is so delicious, even without almonds! (Never tried it with almonds because I didn't have any on hand). Have made it about 3 times now and it makes a great side dish. Microwaved the beans for 2 minutes instead of 4 and have used garlic powder in the past, when I had no minced garlic on hand. Now I just buy a jar of minced garlic - makes things so much easier. I use about 1/4 chicken broth - it makes a difference. Water doesn't seem to bring out the flavor as well in this dish. I have chopped up scallions before and thrown it in and have put in some diced caramelized onions for added flavor. Very good and highly recommended! It's the only way I make french green beans!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      Yum!! I loved the almonds in this! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Huge hit with everyone! I used fresh green beans (didn't french them, not enough time), and used water instead of broth, but I'll try broth next time. I scorched my almonds the first go-round, so started over, and now I know to keep the heat a bit lower and really keep them moving! Thanks for a great green bean recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      Awesome! The only thing I did differently was I did not microwave them. I just added a little more chicken broth and cooked them a few minutes longer in the pan. Wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Loved this recipe. Very easy to make with loads of flavor and crisp beans. I wouldnt change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Very easy and healthy dish to prepare. Had for Christmas dinner 2009 along with roast sirloin pork, roasted carrots, scalloped potatoes and cranberry sauce. Liked that the beans held their crispness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Had these for Thanksgiving 2009. BF declared them the perfect green beans, and I was in complete agreement with him. My family always used to make green beans almondine for Thanksgiving with just butter and almonds. This was so much better, there was no comparison! Browned almonds, garlic and sea salt were absolutely perfect together. I used fresh green beans, not really thin because that was all the grocery store had. Will be making this again soon, and also next year for Thanksgiving. Thank you Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Very nice side dish. My whole family enjoyed this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      Lovely recipe! I omitted the broth and just sauteed the beans in the olive oil and other ingredients and it came out great. Thanks for posting a great everyday recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Very, very good taste! I doubled the garlic, used chicken broth and frozen haricot vert that I've been waiting to find a recipe to use -- guess I found the winner. Will be making this again and again. Thanks for this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      Great vegetable....very fast and addicting....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Delicious! Garlic was definitely the key component here.....I used vegetable broth rather than chicken and it worked just great! Would definitely make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Simple and easy. Yummy too! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I've used this recipe twice now in two weeks. It is very easy to put together at the last minute and it is quite tasty. Thanks Rita, I'm making it again today for Joshua's 30th birthday. All the kids and grand kids will love it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Haricot Vert - French Green Beans With Garlic and Sliced Almonds

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.4
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    70%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 278.7 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites