21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A delicous recipe. I must admit I made some changes. I used it as an inspirational recipe to help me duplicate a soup I had at a small Italian restaurant in Harrisonburg, Virginia. I used 1 cup chicken broth, 3 cups skim milk, 4 cups fat free half and half, instead of the called for stock and cream. I wanted more creaminess and less broth! I only used 1/2 tsp of garlic powder since that flavor can be over-powering. I left out the basil, parsley, and cheddar. I did use some cheddar as a garnish. I used regular salt, too, since I did not use all that broth. So I did change it up some, and it came out great. It is getting close to what I remember from that small restaurant. Also, I after scooping out the baked potatoes from their jackets, I saved the shells for making potato skins! Thank you for a good recipe to help me on my way!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nott November 08, 2008

WOW! Ahhhhh...... Just reading the recipe made my mouth water! I do agree with the lady who substituted the 1/2 and 1/2 for the heavy cream though, well, not really, I prefer the heavy cream, but my Dr. doesn't. Thank you for this recipe, it is wonderful!,,,,,,,,,,,,bb

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbranson44 July 16, 2008

This is a really delicious, rich soup. I kept the skins on the baked potatoes for added texture/flavour/nutrition (they were very well-scrubbed, of course) and used for 4 cloves of garlic for the granulated called for. I also did use 1 cup milk instead of 1 of the cups of cream to reduce the calorie count somewhat, and the flavour was really, really good. This soup comes together really quickly and is great as a full meal with just a simple green salad and some good bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens September 18, 2006

I have used this recipe for years and it is defintely a family favorite. I usually don't have parsley and basil on hand, so I substitute dried chives. I bake the potatoes the night before which cuts down on preparation time. Also I bake them in the oven and never in the microwave....they just taste better that way. Have learned to be careful with the bacon drippings and not use too much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandyms1 December 25, 2012

Probably one of the most undiscovered soup recipes on this site. Those who have tried and rated this soup know what I mean. This should probably have 5 star reviews in the hundreds. Tried this a couple years ago and it's the family standard. A robust soup with the perfect amount of kick. This is a pretty flexible recipe that you can use milk, half and half or cream and it comes out great. If you don't like the heat, start small and work your way up, but for us this is what adds to the soups' character. This soup has the perfect blend of seasonings that make it one you don't ever want to lose the recipe for. I've taken it to neighbors in need and they all ask for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pugsley53 September 11, 2012

This was a great recipe. My whole family loved it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cottage Witch November 06, 2009

Wow! I really thought this was fantastic! I started the recipe without baking the pototos first, silly me, so had to halt everything so be sure your potatoes are baked before you start. lol. I also should have saved some of the bacon for topping but threw it all in. But I gatta say it was super good! Thanks for posting! =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Angie in Missouri November 11, 2008

This was easy to make and very delicious. Definately a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aricadiane March 08, 2008

This is a keeper. The whole family really enjoyed this soup. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Got2wins February 20, 2008

I'm taking off 1 star because in my opinion the flour to bacon grease ratio is way off. Maybe my bacon didn't produce enough grease, but when I added 2/3 cup of flour it was way too much flour. I had to add at least 4 Tbsp butter to have enough oil to make a roux (and it was still pretty dry). An inexperienced cook may have had a difficult time with this and may not have known what to do. Other than that small problem, this dish was fantastic. I didn't use the basil (although I do like basil)because I really wanted the flavor of a loaded baked potato and you normally don't have basil on a loaded baked potato. I also opted to just sprinkle my green onions on top once it was served in bowls and then top that with some more grated cheese and a dollop of sour cream. I had 4 large baked potatoes and didn't want to waste any so I added all of them (which resulted in twice the amount of potatoes called for in the recipe) so I added an extra can of chicken broth. I didn't have homemade chicken stock so I used canned chicken broth and used a total of 5 (14 Ounces each) cans. I reduced the black pepper to 1 tsp and added a touch of cayenne pepper for a little zing. DH liked this dish so much we made a second batch to bring to the hunting camp with him and enough ingredients to make another pot in a week or so.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby January 02, 2008
Hard Rock Cafe Baked Potato Soup