27 Reviews

@GoKittenGo: Fresh eggs are extremely difficult to peel. You must use week-old eggs at the earliest.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbie97058 March 18, 2012

Was impressed on how these came out. I tried peeling these as other reviewers posted, even the Julia Child way. I would say I had 50% turn out nice and the other 50% didn't. I have farm fresh eggs though and they are harder to peel, the fresher they are. Didn't change the taste any! I thought they were better than boiling in water Thanks for sharing. This one I will use again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy October 06, 2009

I loved the color yellow of the yokes, the white not rubbery but 15 out of the 18 came out of oven cracked. OK for deviling but NOT good for egg dying. Back to old way of boiliing tomorrow : ( What did I do wrong?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jandj366 April 04, 2015

Tip: Never try hard boiled eggs with farm fresh eggs. They simply will not peel. Use store bought for hard boiled eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda T. March 28, 2015

Perfect hard cooked eggs every time, the shells seldom crack and peel easily even cold.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyxzy April 21, 2014

If I have the time, I like to cook mine in the toaster oven at 300 degrees for 30 minutes and just let them cool for another 30 minutes or so in the oven after it's turned off. They are cooler to the touch and will peel quite easily, as well as ensuring the yolk is cooked all the way through. However, I don't really notice a difference from this method and the way I boil eggs, other than some brown marks on the baked eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Cookaholic December 15, 2013

I just did this yesterday. I usually boil eggs and put them in my salad....SO GOOD. Only hangup: I set the timer for 30 mins. Right at 30 mins, one egg cracked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Talecia P. October 27, 2013

Very leathery outside, with some discoloration. Yolks are as advertised. Taste is good. I suspect a mistake may have been to choose convection bake on our oven, rather than the plain 'ol "bake." Will try this again in that mode.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rico567 April 03, 2013

I'm surprised to read all the undercooked reviews because mine were way overdone. They were all brown on the top layer of the whites. I agree that they were crazy hard to peel, though. The shells would shatter into tiny little pieces, but every little piece was holding onto the shell lining, which was holding onto the white for dear life. It might be great if I did it at a lower temperature or for less time, but this was such a colossal waste of time, I'm not going to bother. Oh, and the shells exploded in the oven for a few of them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karynlouise March 30, 2013

I baked 2 dozen fresh eggs in mini muffin pans. Followed the direction above. The shells had discolored spots that came off in ice bath. Peeled/halved 3 eggs for myself and the kids. Shells came off neatly. The yolks were perfect. No grey/green. Texture of whites is softer. Slight yellowing of the whites where it had contact with pans. Refrigerating the remaining eggs in water to color with the kids in the morning. I would definitely hard bake my eggs again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristamoretz March 29, 2013
Hard Cooked Eggs in the Oven (Baked Eggs)