Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hard Cooked Eggs in the Oven (Baked Eggs) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hard Cooked Eggs in the Oven (Baked Eggs)

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2003

      Julia Child has a method to make eggs easier to peel: after the ice water plunge, put in boiling water for another 10 seconds or so and then cool again. The idea being that you submit the egg and peel to more thermodynamic shock which results in shrinking and expanding the shell. YMMV

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      I make my eggs this way all the time! Definitely easier to peel in the water, or while still dripping wet. The egg white comes out fluffier, less rubbery than traditional hard boiled eggs. I make these almost daily for my DH's breakfast the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      I found this a very convenient way to hard cook eggs for my 5 year old to color for Easter. Luckily, she dropped one while coloring and it cracked, so we were able to peel and eat it earlier than tomorrow. I didn't try to peel the egg right after cooking though. The ice water bath cooled them, my daughter colored them and then we refrigerated them for several hours. We easily peeled the tester egg after refrigeration, and I was particularly impressed with the lightness of the egg white. It's not as rubbery as the boiling technique and the yolks were nicely centered. Next time I'll reduce the timing a little bit, to avoid overcooking. Although it wasn't as bad as when they're boiled, I still found the outer rim of the yolk slightly grayed. Also, I noticed tiny burnt spots on the shells that line up exactly where the eggs sat between the grates on the oven rack. These are really no big deal at all, just observations. I definitely prefer this method to boiling, and inevitably overcooking my eggs. Thanks for posting this recipe, basia1, I'll be using it again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      The eggs came out great! I found an easy way to peel them: If you have a SonicBlade, use one of the prongs from the food holder that came with it. If you don't, just use a needle or pin. Poke a small hole in the top of the cooked egg andpull it towards the bottom, keeping the tip of the needle so that it's touching the inside of the shell. Using the long crack made by the needle/prong, peel one side of the shell off at a time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      Whether you boil or bake an egg is irrelevant to how you cool and peel it. Always put the eggs in ice water for 5 minutes and then peel under cold water. Always fully crack the egg and start at the fat end, this is where the natural air bubble is. If this recipe makes your eggs easier to peel, it isn't because you baked it, it's because you ice bathed it. These are not good, they don't cook evenly at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      Loved this! No matter how many times I have boiled eggs, they have never peeled nicely. This recipe was perfect! Put them in the oven, set timer for 30 minutes and walk away. Plunged eggs in ice bath and peeled one within a couple minutes. PERFECT. Seriously, you need to try this. Going to color eggs this weekend for Easter and this is how we will prepare. Thanks Alton!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2003

      I have this cookbook, and I tried these eggs. They *are* creamier than boiled eggs, or at least they seem so to me. And, for hard cooked eggs, they are pretty tasty. However, they are a royal pain in the patooty to peel. I tried peeling them warm and cold, and both ways were equally frustrating. Does anyone know of a way to make them easier to peel?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      I've done this around 10 or so times now and every time they come out perfectly! Nice texture, very little grey in yolk, easy to peel after ice bath and so much easier than the old boiling method. Might get a tiny brown spot or two from where egg touches grate. I get less of that if I put them in a muffin tin instead of on grate.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      I am a huge Alton Brown fan and I follow and learn from him religiously but this was an epic fail. I don't know what I did wrong I followed the recipe exactly. Of course when I do something I do it big I tried 6 dozen eggs. Out of all of them I got around 6 whole eggs and probably about 40 yolk that were usable. The eggs were cooked (baked) brown but I couldn't peel them and they weren't new eggs. Back to my fool proof way of boiling them...now to just find a recipe for egg yolk salad!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      This recipe is taking longer than 30 min. I preheated the oven at 325, put eggs on cookie sheet for 30 min. cooled in ice water, as soon as started peeling the egg, I knew it wasn't done, put them in for 5 min, same thing, 10 more min. same thing, 15 more min. with 4 min. left. and waiting. They're on the center rack, my oven works great! Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Just took them out, they're a lot better. Final baking time 1 hour, ice bath 15 min

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      @GoKittenGo: Fresh eggs are extremely difficult to peel. You must use week-old eggs at the earliest.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      Was impressed on how these came out. I tried peeling these as other reviewers posted, even the Julia Child way. I would say I had 50% turn out nice and the other 50% didn't. I have farm fresh eggs though and they are harder to peel, the fresher they are. Didn't change the taste any! I thought they were better than boiling in water Thanks for sharing. This one I will use again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      Perfect hard cooked eggs every time, the shells seldom crack and peel easily even cold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      If I have the time, I like to cook mine in the toaster oven at 300 degrees for 30 minutes and just let them cool for another 30 minutes or so in the oven after it's turned off. They are cooler to the touch and will peel quite easily, as well as ensuring the yolk is cooked all the way through. However, I don't really notice a difference from this method and the way I boil eggs, other than some brown marks on the baked eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      I just did this yesterday. I usually boil eggs and put them in my salad....SO GOOD. Only hangup: I set the timer for 30 mins. Right at 30 mins, one egg cracked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      Very leathery outside, with some discoloration. Yolks are as advertised. Taste is good. I suspect a mistake may have been to choose convection bake on our oven, rather than the plain 'ol "bake." Will try this again in that mode.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      I'm surprised to read all the undercooked reviews because mine were way overdone. They were all brown on the top layer of the whites. I agree that they were crazy hard to peel, though. The shells would shatter into tiny little pieces, but every little piece was holding onto the shell lining, which was holding onto the white for dear life. It might be great if I did it at a lower temperature or for less time, but this was such a colossal waste of time, I'm not going to bother. Oh, and the shells exploded in the oven for a few of them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

      I baked 2 dozen fresh eggs in mini muffin pans. Followed the direction above. The shells had discolored spots that came off in ice bath. Peeled/halved 3 eggs for myself and the kids. Shells came off neatly. The yolks were perfect. No grey/green. Texture of whites is softer. Slight yellowing of the whites where it had contact with pans. Refrigerating the remaining eggs in water to color with the kids in the morning. I would definitely hard bake my eggs again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

      OMG -- these eggs were absolutely perfect. Centered, fully cooked (but not overcooked) yolks. WAY easier than boiling. Easy to peel. I've never made such perfect hard boiled eggs before! I'm never, ever boiling eggs again. With the ease of peeling and the perfectly centered yolks, these will be perfect for deviled eggs. I like the brown spots on the egg whites -- rustic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      Great method for perfect eggs! Thanks for sharing the method!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hard Cooked Eggs in the Oven (Baked Eggs)

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.8
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    59%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 327.3 mg
    109%
    Sodium 124.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes