Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hard-Boiled Eggs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hard-Boiled Eggs

    Average Rating:

    128 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 128

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2002

      I had to get into the discussion on this one! I have always been told to start the eggs in cold water,add few drops vinegar should one crack this seals it, bring to boil, turn off heat, cover and let stand 10-15 mins. Run under cold running water, add ice to water to get the eggs cold as soon as possible, this will ensure fluffy tender yolks, and tender whites, but also eliminates the black ring that occurs around the yolk if you don't cool the eggs. Tap the eggs on the counter top and roll them with the palm of your hand and under running cold water the shells will peel right off. I know this is basic stuff to us old uns, but please remember all the newlyweds, and those new to cooking, these tips make all the difference in the results they get.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2002

      I didn't know one needed a recipe to boil an egg. Is there one for boiling water that I missed?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2002

      This is how I hard-boil my eggs and they come out EGGcellent everytime. I don't know what planet "jiva das" is from but when I make hardboiled eggs I don't have all day to wait for them to be done...however the pickle juice does sound interesting in making the deviled eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2002

      This is no way to cook eggs! First, use a pin to punch a hole in the big end of the eggs. This prevents cracking, that is caused by expansion of the air bubble in the big end. Cover the eggs well with COLD water. Cover the pan, and bring to a boil over medium heat (this method works only on an electric stove). As soon as the water is bopiling, turn off the heat. Leave the pot on the element. After some hours, once the water is at room temperature, peel the eggs (use a spoon to crack the shell all over, then, under a running tap, roll the egg between your palms. The shell can then be easily removed. DEVILED: Slice an egg lengthwise. Spoon out the yolk. Repeat for the rest of the eggs. Add a spoon of DILL PICKLE JUICE (!), season to taste, mash the lot with a fork, and spoon into the egg-white halves. Or use CURRY instead of the pickle brine. Or EXPERIMENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2003

      Can you believe I've been cooking for my family for almost 25 years and have never been able to get the hard boiled eggs right?! Thanks so much for this recipe, shortstuff! I know it's basic to most, but some of us needed this. They turn out perfect every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2003

      Thumbs up to someone for adding a basic recipie.. not only do beginner cookers need to know this, but some of us can use a refresher at times, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2003

      Thanks so much for posting this kitchen basic. It's not every day that I boil eggs so when I needed to prepare Easter eggs for coloring, I couldn't remember how! Thanks again for helping me remember!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2002

      This is basically how I do it. Except I bring to boil,leave on stove(electric)element, cover for 20 min. Drain water out and replace with crushed or regular ice cubes. Let cool and will peel easily.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      This is the only way I hard boil an egg. Turns out perfect every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

    • on August 12, 2013

      As an update - I continue to use this method and it's never failed me. Love it!!<br/>Had to add my rating for this great tip on hard boiling eggs. I followed the instructions exactly letting mine (farm fresh medium to large sized eggs) sit for 18 min as they where of varing sizes. Came out so nice with no green around the edges. Peeled easier than most fresh eggs and I was very pleased with the outcome. I used this method to make my own recipe for Smoked salmon deviled eggs and I can't thank you enough for posting this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      The yolks turned out perfect, but peeling these eggs didn't work too well. Too much of the whites came off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      No grey ring and easy to peel. Perfect! Thanks for posting your technique.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      I LOVE this method. You get perfect eggs every single time. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      Worked for me. And yes, I do need a recipe to boil eggs that don't have the grey ring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      These came out perfectly! Super easy, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      I followed the recipe as written other then I only used nine eggs. They were perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      I still give it 5 stars but the recipe needs to be re-reviewed as its not for hard boiled eggs but "hard cooked"... and the recipes source is actually from the incredible egg company which has recently posted the recipe on facebook which was obviously not available back when the recipe was posted...

      http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=376643422701&set=a.376643132701.156601.46672017701

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      The eggs come out perfect every time! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hard-Boiled Eggs

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.5
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    59%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 186.0 mg
    62%
    Sodium 71.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites