22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oops. I promised to review this again after trying it. It's a keeper! I get bulk chicken breasts and make freezer meals. This is in the regular rotation. I prefer it saucier so I double the sauce recipe and used about 2 tbs honey/honey sauce and 4 tbs log cabin syrup. Also using potato flour in place of the cornstarch. (I'm sensitive to corn)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker January 23, 2013

We certainly enjoyed this version of sesame chicken (one of my faves!) The coating/breading was a little different, but it worked well. I used my non-stick wok and cooked 1 'huge' breast in 2 batches, so as not to crowd the pan. The sauce was yummy and easy. I will make this again, and may add a touch of ginger next time, as a personal preference. Thanks so much for sharing, IngridH! Made for Best of 2010 tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl February 04, 2011

I made this for dinner tonight for my husband and 3 year old daughter. I doubled the sauce, added a bag of asian style stir fry veggies and served it all over brown rice - success! Next time I might add a pinch of red pepper flakes, but that's just me - I like a little kick. This chicken alone would be great served in a salad or wrap. Thanks for a great recipe that we'll use over and over again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NikasMommy January 06, 2009

This was easy and good. Being able to do the prep ahead of time is an added bonus. We like saucy rice, so I doubled the sauce. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dojustice February 13, 2015

I used 3 chicken breasrts which had a weight of 900 grams for 4 us. I cut my chicken up chunky and only par cooked it and finished it off in the oven while the DH made the fried rice which took him a lot longer than expected so the chicken was in a 125C fan forced oven for nearly an hour and yet is was still moist and sweet and thoroughly enjoyed by us all. Thank you IngridH , made for I Recommend tag game and recommended by Chef Tweaker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat January 22, 2013

I liked this a lot. It sounded a lot like something right off a Chinese restaurant menu. I tried to make it exactly as written, but I skipped steps 4-7 because I was cooking it right away instead of freezing it for later. I was a tad disappointed that the chicken didn't come out golden brown like in the picture. I cooked it for quite a while, turning often, but perhaps the pan was too crowded and I should have done it in two batches as suggested. But that's just a visual quibble. The taste was nice, with the soy sauce, sesame seed and green onions; I would've liked more sauce, though. It lasted me for four dinners - I even served it with the suggested sides (rice and a vegetable, broccoli in this case). This recipe is worth recommending.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spooty3 February 08, 2012

Made with pork instead of chicken, doubled the sauce and added chili-garlic sauce. The pork came out with a light crispy coating and the sauce is delicious! Everyone loved it and I will definitely be making this alot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dragonfly AZ May 16, 2011

Really good though I recommend that you 1 1/2 times the sauce. I found that the egg white cornstarch stuck to the pan. Maybe I tried to turn too early as that is often reason proteins stick but after a while I did not trust it. You may have to have another pan handy if you want to cook all the same day. I halved green onions and toasted sesame seeds. Otherwise I made exactly as stated but I think next time I will add 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady March 10, 2011

Excellent! My whole family devoured this chicken. I served it over brown rice so the lovely sauce could seep in. Yum! I made as directed, with one exception. I did not add the extra 1 T. of sesame seeds at the end, because I thought it already had the perfect amt. for us. I love the crispy coating that the cornstarch creates. Great, easy recipe that will be a repeat in our home. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 14, 2011
Happy Family Sesame Chicken