Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hangover Poached Eggs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hangover Poached Eggs

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2014

      I swapped out the ketchup for hot salsa and used 1/2 cup of grated pepper jack. This egg dis will be a regular for me now

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      Was feeling a bit queasy (no, not a hangover, just a bit off) and thought I would try this. Have already reviewed Darlene Summers Eggs in Catsup and this variation appealed to me. It was great! Felt much better (don't know if it was this particular combination or if I just needed something in my stomach.......) When the eggs were halfdone I added the cheese to get a little thicker sauce. Also addded about 5 mad dashes of tabasco to the sauce. It took me about 5 minutes to get the eggs done. Very pleased to have found this. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      This was really good! No one had a hangover, but it was a great breakfast. Next time I think we will add sausage to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      yummm! I tried this without having a hangover :) It sounds weird but I like those weird things, they always seem to be the best! I do flavor my ketchup well with onion and garlic powders, italian seasonings, and hot sauce. All that with poached eggs, cheese, S&P, over toast makes a great light breakfast! Thanks for this great unique idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Wow! So yummy! Both my son and I fixed this this morning and defanitely will be again and again. I used apple cider vinegar and several splashes of hot sauce and plenty of cheddar cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      EXACTLY what I was hoping for! I am a total fiend for ketchup/eggs/cheese.. and the vinegar absolutely brought this together. I've made them with both plain white vinegar, and apple cider vinegar .. for some reason that I can't seem to quite put my finger on, I enjoyed the white vinegar a little more. I, too, have also added hot sauce, and that was a hit! Thank you so much for this delicious treat. My lazy microwaved eggs days are OVER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I REALLY wanted to like this recipe. I like ketchup on my eggs, and I enjoy poached eggs, but the flavor just didn't work for me. Even with the vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar) it didn't cut the sweetness of ketchup. Also, perhaps my cooktop puts out more heat than the other recipe testers, because 3 minutes was actually too much for me. While the egg whites ended up tender, the yolks were overdone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I never had or made poached eggs before. Like others I was skeptical because I'm not a big fan of ketchup, but these were really good and very easy. They were even a big hit with my DH who is very picky and usually won't try new things. I sauteed 1/2 of a medium onion and one clove of garlic in a teaspoon of butter. Then I added the ketchup mixture. It doesn't say what kind of vinegar so I used balsamic because I like the flavor. For me three minutes were perfect and I was able to get six eggs made with this (two at a time). I'm a school bus driver and had the day off because of the snow, so this was perfect for an unexpected day off. Thank you so much Bill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I really thought I was going to love these, as I'm a catsup on my eggs girl. I could only eat one and that was without the soggy toast. Sorry, but these were just way too catsupy (something I never thought I'd say) for my tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Well I don't have a hangover, but for the first time in a long time I am alone on Christmas morning..... So I wanted to make myself a fun breakfast before going to veg out in front of the tv for the day. This dish was great - better than any diner breakfast! I added a few dashes of hot sauce, and it was perfect. I can't wait to make it again when I do have a hangover......which may be tomorrow. :-) Happy Eating Everyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      These are delicious eggs! They made a lovely treat of a breakfast. I made some for myself and for my mom, and we both really enjoyed the outcome. They had a good tangy flavor. I used apple cider vinegar and liked the result. I cooked mine for 5 minutes because my mom likes her eggs more firm. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      If you close your eyes you would swear you're eating a grilled cheese sandwich alongside a nice bowl of tomato bisque. Just as easy, too! Added Franks x-hot to the sauce. Excellent! I have never-EVER had ketchup with my eggs before. But, since I left my A-Game at the bar last night and needed a 'fix', I gave these a try. I'm shocked at how much I liked these! And I really think it helped make the room spin slower! (LOL) This will be a go-to recipe when I need comfort food! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      Big favorite of the kids. I'd never had poached eggs before this and found them quite tasty. We've now tried adding other stuff to the ketchup sauce, such as curry, etc. and the kids have liked it every time. We like ours with a bit more sauce though so I usually double the amount of ketchup. Also, I've found that I need to cook it slightly longer than three minutes, usually about five, or they complain that their eggs are slimy. And this from kids who like their yolks running for their lives and the whites perfectly cooked. Their favorite way to eat it is on fresh bread (not always toasted but often) with a slice of cheese going all melted and gooey on it. They ask for this at least once a month, usually once a week and it's now earned a place in "THE" cookbook. You know, the one full of recipes that the whole family likes, full of notes, and is usually passed down. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I HAD to try these, mostly due to the pictures. LOL! Added a couple ot tablespoons of salsa to kick them up a bit. Delicious. Not sure I could handle these on a hangover morning though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      3 minutes and a splash of Frank's hot sauce - awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      I love ketchup and I love eggs! Skipped the cheese and toast, and just went for the yummy ketchupy sauce over the poached eggs. Heavenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      This recipe is surprisingly delicious - I say surprisingly because to imagine eggs poached in catsup really boggles ones mind - but, I thought, can Bill be wrong? Well yes, but not this time. They are very tasty. The vinegar is just right to balance the flavor- Served with a grilled onion medly. Thanks Bill it was a lovely SCunday brunch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      I liked these very much. I also added a chopped green onion atop the melted cheese. I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      I used Heinz ketchup, and that's all I could taste. I won't be making this again, but thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      I guess I'm in the minority. I liked these, but didn't love them. Even with a lot of hot sauce, the catsup was too sweet for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hangover Poached Eggs

    Serving Size: 1 (400 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 709.7
     
    Calories from Fat 347
    48%
    Total Fat 38.6 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 19.5 g
    97%
    Cholesterol 483.4 mg
    161%
    Sodium 1769.6 mg
    73%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.2 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 20.2 g
    80%
    Protein 31.2 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites