111 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum. And YUM! These were great! Super fast, super tasty. It was so good I actually had to bring it to work and let all my coworkers ooh and aah over it, which they did. I am trying to keep a more "frugal" kitchen, and this fits the bill! Inexpensive to prepare, and very easy. I used extra lean ground beef and served with egg noodles. Next time I'll try mashed potatoes. I might even try serving with homemade mac and cheese instead of noodles or potatoes. Now THAT would be a great comfort food meal. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngelaTN July 15, 2002

The family was in the mood for meatloaf last night so I came to this site for help. With it being so hot outside, I didn't want to use my oven and this recipe was perfect! The family loved it! I made it with a side of mashed taters, a veggie combination of snow peas, green peas, carrots and broccoli, a salad and an oregano/garlic bread from my bread machine. Yummy! Thank you for posting this recipe!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cocoa August 14, 2002

This was a very tasty recipe.The flavour of the ingredients blended nicely together, the meat was moist and flavourful and the onion soup mix wasn't over-powering as in some recipes. My family thoroughly enjoyed these served with garlic mashed potatoes and peas and carrots.This one goes into my recipe files.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie Ann August 12, 2002

I have made these at least 5 times now, as it is now my husband's favorite meal. He begs me to make it at least twice a month. My children also lick their plates every time. Thanks for such a great recipe.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kris in ks March 25, 2003

This recipe is so easy, down-right delicious and cold-weather comforting. My husband would choose these with a side of mashed potatoes over a good steak dinner! Matter of fact, just hand him a straw and he might drink the gravy! Very pleasing to the tummy and outstanding on the wallet!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! November 21, 2002

Deee--licious!! to say the least. A most easy to make recipe and oh-so-good. No one was disappointed in any way. I bragged about these burgers to everyone who would listen.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doreen Singer November 15, 2002

Oh Wow!!! These "Meat Cakes" are excellent. They have a wonderful flavor and so easy to slap together and serve! Made Sue L.'s German Sauerkraut and Potato Balls to go with. My, my, what a lovely dinner. I did cut everything in 1/2 as there are just two of us here. Made my own version of brown gravy as I didn't have packaged on hand. Still turned out good. My compliments to you and your mom!!! Laudee C.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee September 20, 2002

This is my first review so obviously I thought this was great.It was super easy, allowed for leftovers and the last night of leftovers we "modified" and made burgers with pepperjack cheese which were wonderful.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catbeckster January 10, 2004

This is a great comfort food dish !! I made this for my DH and he loved it ! I halved the ingredients and it turned out fabulous .I will be making this again . It was an easy Friday nite supper .

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P April 18, 2003

Wow! These burgers were great. definately pleased my meat lovin' hubby. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenway March 29, 2003
Hamburgers with Brown Gravy (TOTAL Comfort Food aka "Meat Cakes" :)