Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hamburgers with Brown Gravy (TOTAL Comfort Food aka "Meat Cakes" :) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hamburgers with Brown Gravy (TOTAL Comfort Food aka "Meat Cakes" :)

    Average Rating:

    111 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 111

    Sort by:

    • on July 15, 2002

      Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum. And YUM! These were great! Super fast, super tasty. It was so good I actually had to bring it to work and let all my coworkers ooh and aah over it, which they did. I am trying to keep a more "frugal" kitchen, and this fits the bill! Inexpensive to prepare, and very easy. I used extra lean ground beef and served with egg noodles. Next time I'll try mashed potatoes. I might even try serving with homemade mac and cheese instead of noodles or potatoes. Now THAT would be a great comfort food meal. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2002

      The family was in the mood for meatloaf last night so I came to this site for help. With it being so hot outside, I didn't want to use my oven and this recipe was perfect! The family loved it! I made it with a side of mashed taters, a veggie combination of snow peas, green peas, carrots and broccoli, a salad and an oregano/garlic bread from my bread machine. Yummy! Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      This was a very tasty recipe.The flavour of the ingredients blended nicely together, the meat was moist and flavourful and the onion soup mix wasn't over-powering as in some recipes. My family thoroughly enjoyed these served with garlic mashed potatoes and peas and carrots.This one goes into my recipe files.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      I have made these at least 5 times now, as it is now my husband's favorite meal. He begs me to make it at least twice a month. My children also lick their plates every time. Thanks for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2002

      This recipe is so easy, down-right delicious and cold-weather comforting. My husband would choose these with a side of mashed potatoes over a good steak dinner! Matter of fact, just hand him a straw and he might drink the gravy! Very pleasing to the tummy and outstanding on the wallet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2002

      Deee--licious!! to say the least. A most easy to make recipe and oh-so-good. No one was disappointed in any way. I bragged about these burgers to everyone who would listen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      Oh Wow!!! These "Meat Cakes" are excellent. They have a wonderful flavor and so easy to slap together and serve! Made Sue L.'s German Sauerkraut and Potato Balls to go with. My, my, what a lovely dinner. I did cut everything in 1/2 as there are just two of us here. Made my own version of brown gravy as I didn't have packaged on hand. Still turned out good. My compliments to you and your mom!!! Laudee C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      This is my first review so obviously I thought this was great.It was super easy, allowed for leftovers and the last night of leftovers we "modified" and made burgers with pepperjack cheese which were wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2003

      This is a great comfort food dish !! I made this for my DH and he loved it ! I halved the ingredients and it turned out fabulous .I will be making this again . It was an easy Friday nite supper .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2003

      Wow! These burgers were great. definately pleased my meat lovin' hubby. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      I halved this recipe to fit our family. My husband didn't like it but he doesn't like anything mixed. My kids liked it so that's why the 4 stars. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2003

      Very "easy on the budget" dish! This was a wonderful change to the usual ground beef dishes. I don't eat red meat, but my family loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2003

      I cant believe anyone rated these less than a five for ease of preperation alone!! They also happened to be very tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      Karen! This recipe was KILLER!! It rocks! It reminds me of what my mom used to make when I was a kid and she called it "Salisbury Steaks". My kids and BF snarfed it all, I had to keep my hands away for fear of being bitten LOL! I can't wait to make it again now that the cold weather is settling in. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      YUMMY!!!! These are soooooo good!! They got thumbs up from every one around the supper table. I did cut the recipe in half though as it was too much for my family as is but next time, I just may make the full recipe and freeze half of the "meat cakes" for another time...or even make the remainder of the meat mixture into meatballs and freeze. It IS total comfort food and will definately be added to my recipe file of "family favorites".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      These were INCREDIBLE!! I served with mac and cheese, but next time I will do it over mashed potatoes or noodles. The "cakes" were so moist and flavorful after simmering in the gravy. My DH loved it so much I might need one more envelope of gravy...he used too much to have much left for our leftovers...LOL Easy and GREAT comfort food!!! Thanks Karen for sharing!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2003

      This is really Yummy! My DH really enjoyed it along with my 21 month old son. Will make this one again. Thanks Karen

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2003

      I was looking for a recipe that would be filling yet appetizing for my nearly 2 year old daughter. This fit the bill perfectly. I halved it just for the two of us. We both had happy plates. will definitely make again. I had with potatoes, will eventually try it with noodles. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2003

      I made this as directed except cut it in half for just the two of us. Easy to put together, and cook. Next time I am going to make into meatballs! Yummy, thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2014

      Delicious!! A variation on what my mom used to make, but these needed fewer ingredients and I had 4 hungry teenage boys to feed....PERFECT MEAL with buttered noodles and a salad. A few complaints on the thinness of the gravy, so next time I will only use about a cup and a half of water, but even so, absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hamburgers with Brown Gravy (TOTAL Comfort Food aka "Meat Cakes" :)

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.1
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    55%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 98.8 mg
    32%
    Sodium 450.2 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 18.9 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    brown gravy mix


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes