184 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These burgers were great. I always put garlic in my burgers but I have never thought of putting horseradish in them. I used 3 lbs of ground beef and added 2 eggs. This is the recipe I will be using from now on. Thanks

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy May 19, 2003

Excellent burgers! I used about 4 lbs. of lean ground beef and added an egg to the meat, but we still had a bit of a problem with them breaking on the grill. Next time I'll try adding two eggs. Broken or not..they were delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaM May 07, 2003

I'm a pretty good cook, only 2 things give me major trouble in the kitchen, cookies and hamburgers. Two simple things that continuously make me look like an amateur! However, I may now be the reining hamburger queen in my 'hood! These are super tasty, they didn't puff up like meatballs or fall apart like loose-meat...hooray! Thanks for everyone who has reviewed this and offered their tips. I used them all...and egg to hold them together, an indentation in the center to keep them from puffing up and freezing for 10 minutes or so. The horseradish was fantastic, I'll add more next time. Thanks for posting. :-) Now I'm off to look for a fool proof cookie. LOL

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 May 30, 2009

I added an egg and about 1/3 cup of bread crumbs to help keep everything together. I also realized at the last minute that I was out of horseradish but even without it the burgers were very tasty and moist. This was exceptionally easy and I will be keeping it as my go-to recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryMama December 17, 2014

GREAT flavor! I like salt, so per ther review of someone I added 1tsp instead of a 1/4 tsp.... I would say that was a little too much- somewhere between 1/4tsp- 1/2 tsp would probably suit the salt fans.

I cooked these in a SKILLET on a medium-high heat 8 mins on one side then flipped for an additional 3 mins. Mine burned a little, but the char made them seem like they were from the grill lol. - They were Well done ( not a lot of pink)- which is fine because they were so moist from the olive oil.

Boyfriend LOVED them. Thanks Vicky!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
des1180 May 11, 2011

We thought the flavor was ok with these, just the texture we really didn't care for. It was a bit too mushy for me but definatly moist. I used ground sirloin, and the patties formed really well, but when you go to flip them they can fall apart on you. Thanks for posting :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes April 02, 2011

I doubled the recipe as I has I had my crew coming in for a casual family dinner! I only added 3 T worcestershire, 1 T olive oil and 4 garlic, 1 T horseradish and a couple pinches of Great Canadian Steak Spice. I actually liked the taste with the horseradish, but, I wouldn't have wanted it any hotter than that! I would use caution about adding too much liquid as the burgers were very wet. I had made the patties up in advance chilled them for about 3 hours....so they did firm up a bit! I tend to make my burgers quite big, flatten each burger in between wax paper with a small flat plate.... this takes into account the shrinkage, and they fit the bun!! (I will prepare a batch of seasoned ground beef for the freezer using this method, and when I want a quick dinner, I remove what I need and thaw for about 30 minutes)... I quite enjoyed this recipe as it was a bit of a departure from my "same ol', same ol'!!! I would do this one again!!! Thanks for the posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl June 14, 2010

Let's just say that mere words can not describe how truly fantastic these hamburgers are! I have made these many times and just realized I have not reviewed. I have made with qualily ground beef and the bargain ground beef you get in the big tube (for a crowd) and they were equally delicious. When short on time, I have made with garlic powder instead of the fresh minced garlic and again it was fantastic. I am not a big horseradish fan, however, it is a MUST in this recipe. I did cut back a little on the amount but wouldn't dream of making them without it! I increased the salt to 1 teaspoon and added fresh ground black pepper. The result: tender, juicy, melt in your mouth burgers....the only way I make them now. Thanks Vicky for posting a true gem.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PleasantNancy February 07, 2010

I made these a few weeks ago and the burgers did turn out juicy but I thought it lacked flavor. Next time I will add more fresh horseradish because I couldn't taste just the one tablespoon. I will also add more of my own flavors like Montreal seasoning and maybe some finely chopped onion.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annettewebb April 15, 2009

This was good, different with the worcestershire sauce, not a recipe we have found to use a whole lot, but nice for a change.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adellebeckman November 02, 2008
Hamburgers