Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hamburgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hamburgers

    Average Rating:

    182 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 182

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2002

      Definately make these if you love horseradish and garlic. Best burger i've had in a very long time. They were great! I doubled on the horseradish, which may be a lot for some people, but was just fine for us. Really great mixture of flavors. BF and I were fighting over who would take the leftover burger in their lunch this morning! A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2002

      This is a great recipe, the horseradish gave it a good kick but was not overpowering. Great combination

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2002

      Juicy and tasty burgers! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out really great. Only problem I had was that they had a small tendency to not adhere together while attempting to turn them on the grill. Not really bad, but I might be tempted to add an egg in the future just to combat that very minor problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2002

      Interesting blend of flavors. Next time I will add salt and pepper, and increase the horseradish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2002

      Good, good, good. I was out of horseradish, so I used onion. Also felt the burgers needed salt and pepper, which was easy to add when eating. Will try horseradish next time. We really liked the Worcestershire taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2002

      Excellent hamburger recipe. I was looking for a way to spice up regular hamburgers and this was just the ticket. I will be making them like this from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2001

      Since you used two of my favorite items...garlic and horseradish, I knew this recipe couldn't go wrong!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2002

      These are really very tasty and moist. I didn't grill them 'cause my BBQ is broken, but fried on the stove-top and they were still wonderful. Will definitely make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      I've made these before, and they're very good. A tip for the reviewers who said the burgers would fall apart: if your hamburger is too lean, ie: ground sirloin, for example, it won't hold together. You need fat content. I use 80%-20% ratio. I don't like to add eggs, bread etc. to a beef patti, it then reminds me too much of a meatloaf mixture. I had been searching for a "better burger" and was delighted, and not disappointed when I found and tried this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      After reading many comments about these burgers falling apart, I think I might have stumbled across the reason and the cure. I think it is in the handling of the beef. Typically, the less you work the beef, the more tender the burgers will be. There were so many variables in my recipe, things I did differently from others to be able to tell what was causing the falling apart. Even those who used an egg or added bread crumbs had them fall apart. Others said they had no problem. I made my own vriation on the recipe. I made 4 burgers. Three had trouble holding together; one was perfect. The perfect one was one I formed twice bcause after forming it I found it was too large. I tore off some of the meat, rolled it around again and formed the patty again. It got worked twice as much as the other three. So, I'm thinking that the wet ingredients used are so wet that they actually require that the meat be handled a little more than one would usually do. At first I thought it was that I'd ground my own beef from chuck roast and it was not the right balance of fat to lean. Also, I was afraid the fresh garlic would burn in the high heat on the grill, so I used garlic powder instead. I used two slices of stale bread and a little Half and Half, plus a pinch of gelatin, and an egg. We'd just had a dish heavy on Worcestershire Sauce so instead I used about a teaspoon of A-1 Sauce and only a heaping teaspoon of horseraddish. Unfortunately, I overdid it slightly on the kosher salt I added last but they were still very delicious, especially the one that held together perfectly. Thank you for sharing what has obviously been a popular recipe to try. I'll look forward to experimenting again soon.

      Next time I'll try grinding steak tips with short ribs and use less milk on the bread; I'll also use more horseraddish (I'm working my way up to the 3 Tablespoons a teaspoon at a time.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      These burgers were great. I always put garlic in my burgers but I have never thought of putting horseradish in them. I used 3 lbs of ground beef and added 2 eggs. This is the recipe I will be using from now on. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2003

      Excellent burgers! I used about 4 lbs. of lean ground beef and added an egg to the meat, but we still had a bit of a problem with them breaking on the grill. Next time I'll try adding two eggs. Broken or not..they were delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      I'm a pretty good cook, only 2 things give me major trouble in the kitchen, cookies and hamburgers. Two simple things that continuously make me look like an amateur! However, I may now be the reining hamburger queen in my 'hood! These are super tasty, they didn't puff up like meatballs or fall apart like loose-meat...hooray! Thanks for everyone who has reviewed this and offered their tips. I used them all...and egg to hold them together, an indentation in the center to keep them from puffing up and freezing for 10 minutes or so. The horseradish was fantastic, I'll add more next time. Thanks for posting. :-) Now I'm off to look for a fool proof cookie. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      GREAT flavor! I like salt, so per ther review of someone I added 1tsp instead of a 1/4 tsp.... I would say that was a little too much- somewhere between 1/4tsp- 1/2 tsp would probably suit the salt fans.

      I cooked these in a SKILLET on a medium-high heat 8 mins on one side then flipped for an additional 3 mins. Mine burned a little, but the char made them seem like they were from the grill lol. - They were Well done ( not a lot of pink)- which is fine because they were so moist from the olive oil.

      Boyfriend LOVED them. Thanks Vicky!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      We thought the flavor was ok with these, just the texture we really didn't care for. It was a bit too mushy for me but definatly moist. I used ground sirloin, and the patties formed really well, but when you go to flip them they can fall apart on you. Thanks for posting :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      I doubled the recipe as I has I had my crew coming in for a casual family dinner! I only added 3 T worcestershire, 1 T olive oil and 4 garlic, 1 T horseradish and a couple pinches of Great Canadian Steak Spice. I actually liked the taste with the horseradish, but, I wouldn't have wanted it any hotter than that! I would use caution about adding too much liquid as the burgers were very wet. I had made the patties up in advance chilled them for about 3 hours....so they did firm up a bit! I tend to make my burgers quite big, flatten each burger in between wax paper with a small flat plate.... this takes into account the shrinkage, and they fit the bun!! (I will prepare a batch of seasoned ground beef for the freezer using this method, and when I want a quick dinner, I remove what I need and thaw for about 30 minutes)... I quite enjoyed this recipe as it was a bit of a departure from my "same ol', same ol'!!! I would do this one again!!! Thanks for the posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Let's just say that mere words can not describe how truly fantastic these hamburgers are! I have made these many times and just realized I have not reviewed. I have made with qualily ground beef and the bargain ground beef you get in the big tube (for a crowd) and they were equally delicious. When short on time, I have made with garlic powder instead of the fresh minced garlic and again it was fantastic. I am not a big horseradish fan, however, it is a MUST in this recipe. I did cut back a little on the amount but wouldn't dream of making them without it! I increased the salt to 1 teaspoon and added fresh ground black pepper. The result: tender, juicy, melt in your mouth burgers....the only way I make them now. Thanks Vicky for posting a true gem.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      I made these a few weeks ago and the burgers did turn out juicy but I thought it lacked flavor. Next time I will add more fresh horseradish because I couldn't taste just the one tablespoon. I will also add more of my own flavors like Montreal seasoning and maybe some finely chopped onion.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This was good, different with the worcestershire sauce, not a recipe we have found to use a whole lot, but nice for a change.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      After you finish the patties, put them in the freezer for 10 minutes. This will keep them from falling apart!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hamburgers

    Serving Size: 1 (131 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.7
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    55%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 98.2 mg
    32%
    Sodium 405.0 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 30.3 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites