13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks for posting this recipe. It is this type of simple easy recipe that inspires many variations depending on what is inside your cupboard. In my cupboard tonight I had can of mushroom soup and I had it with some mushroom rice -- thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heatherhealth2000 July 05, 2010

This was good and a super simple recipe. I used ground sirloin and added frozen peas but omitted the mushrooms (my son is not a fan of mushrooms). I also used homemade beef stock in place of the bouillon and water. I served over wide multi-grain noodles. My husband and 6 year old LOVED it! Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MilanzMom October 13, 2007

Recipe was a little thicker than I like. Next time I will add 1/2 cup more water and 1/4 cup more sour cream next time. Also to control sodium content, I eliminated the salt called for and increased the pepper to 1/2 t. We enjoyed and will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyShu January 28, 2002

I have had a similar recipe since the early 80's, only mine called for a can of mushroom soup. I had to omit the mushrooms because I didn't have any on hand. The only other thing I did differently was add a teaspoon of dried dill. We thought it superb! Next time, I will make sure I have fresh mushrooms, as that would make a delightful addition. Peppermintkitty, thank you for the wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose April 17, 2010

This gets four stars because my intention in making it was for something quick, easy and kid friendly. It delivered that. For the adults, we thought it was a little bland. Easy to keep the ingredients on hand and for that reason I will probably make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keolani August 21, 2007

Nummy, hearty meal, and soooo fast and cheap!! Ready in 15 min start to finish! I added an extra clove of garlic, frozen veggies (I like the added colour and its healthy for the kids) instead of mushrooms, doubled the water (it was a little thick at first)and a bit more beef bouillon because of the extra water. I mixed it in with the noodles instead of serving over top and mixed in some shredded cheese. I served it with a tossed salad and garlic bread. Mmmmm's all around. Ok, so I don't follow directions well, but I did do the rest according to the recipe, and I will definitely make it again! It's one of those things that you can make when you don't have much in the cupboard. I think next time I'll try it with a can of diced tomatoes?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tylamd June 26, 2007

I love hamburger recipes. Especially when its 99 cents a pound. This was good. I used fresh mushrooms and extra sourcream and pepper. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anniesthisnthat May 31, 2007

I just asked my mom for this same recipe. It was just like I remember as a little girl; now, only if my little girls would eat it.....maybe someday. Made it exactly per the recipe and enjoyed every last bite. Will keep this one around for a long time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knitaholic May 11, 2007

This was really good. I was happy to find a good stroganoff recipe using hamburger. I added a bit of paprika and used fresh mushrooms, but otherwise made as written. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. November 05, 2006

This is a great recipe. I made it exactly like the recipe is written but I also added a 12 oz. pkg. of chopped bacon which I cooked with the onion and mushrooms before adding the hamburger. It made the house smell good too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lroeper1 April 06, 2006
Hamburger Stroganoff