46 Reviews

I have been looking a long time for my granny's Salisbury steak recipe. I am happy to say this tastes like it to me! I did not have Worcestershire and subbed A1. I also added a tablespoon of A1 to the gravy like my granny always did. We loved it!!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meowser March 03, 2011

I used ground round and I added alittle bread crumbs and some more of the soup mix to the gravy and it was absolutley delicious!!! Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie February 25, 2011

Made this tonight with ground venison instead of ground beef, used Lipton beefy onion soup, and added a splash of Kitchen Bouquet since we like our gravy a little darker brown. It was perfect and so easy. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bes1111 January 10, 2015

A great go-to recipe for a quick but filling family meal. I used some fresh onion mixed in with the meat and doubled the gravy so we'd have plenty for our mashed potatoes! Cooked up perfectly as written. I did find that each "steak" was too large and that I could probably reduce this down to 1 lb of beef easily to feed a family of four. Definitely a comfort food. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom January 28, 2013

This was good but I did change it up a bit. I didn't dredge the steaks in flour before frying and only added two tablespoons of flour to the gravy mix. I also added the onion soup to the gravy mix as I was afraid it wouldn't have much flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol October 02, 2012

This recipe was so easy to follow and tasted fantastic. I had to double the recipe because we have a family of six. The kids enjoyed it as well. The only ingredient I added was sliced onions in the gravy, because I love onions. This is best with white rice. I would recommend this recipe to anyone who wants a tasty meal that doesn't require a lot of time to prepare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MzMiller1215 March 23, 2011

Made this last night and everyone really, really liked it. I didn't have onion soup mix and this was still really good. I served with mashed potatoes and veggies. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simplemom October 16, 2010

Love...I use Beefy Onion instead of the onion. Whip up some homeade mashed potatos, and veggies...it's amazing. Also, I just use the other envelope in the package and make gravy as directed on box. My husband LOVES this stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianDelia July 06, 2010

This recipe got mixed reviews this evening, so I averaged them out at 3 1/2 stars. I found it tasted rather bland after following the recipe exactly, so I added some garlic and spices to the gravy and put in some more Worcestershire. It was nice to try something different with ground beef though. Thx Marie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word October 05, 2009

Was looking for a new way to cook hamburger meat and viola! This was sooooooo yummy, my DH has been begging me to make it again and again. The second time I made it, I sautee'd some onion and mushrooms, and they were yummy with it. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ABAcalvarywife September 20, 2009
Hamburger Steak With Gravy