24 Reviews

Very tasty. The only change I made was to use Italian bread crumbs. Did not use any Sherry but made beef based gravy with dry onion soup mix added. Good recipe. Thanks for sharing this one, Wish I could give it extra stars

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelfan July 21, 2011

I made this for dinner tonight and it was so darned good. The meat was very tender. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barenaked Chef July 15, 2013

This recipe is just great and I've made it a number of times. I only give 5 stars to recipes that I consistently make without any changes to the recipe and I do make a few minor changes to this one. The changes I make are largely to the quantity of gravy (more) and the amount of worchestershire sauce (less) in the burger. I also use ground sirloin instead of chuck. The burger comes out very tender and with a texture somewhat like good meatloaf. Thanks for such a good comfort food recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkwilson November 20, 2012

This was really good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I used gravy that I had leftover from the other night and I used italian bread crumbs as that is all I had. I made five hamburger steaks and they were so tasty. We all loved these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 22, 2012

Made this for DS this evening and he was crazy about it. I did change up the method a bit in that I cooked the burgers first then covered and put them in the warming drawer. Using the same pan I went ahead with the onions and made the gravy (skipping the sherry). I served these as open face hamburger on 1/2 buns with fries and coleslaw. This was our first eaten outdoor meal this year and it was well enjoyed by all. The recipe is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 21, 2012

Made hamburger steaks exactly as directed but left the sherry out of the gravy and substituted left over breakfast coffee for the beef broth and it was FABULOUS! Served over rice and was the perfect dinner for a tired and cold hubby...........Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch December 06, 2011

This is so yummy and easy to do. I did the gravy and used dry red wine. Thanks ninja :) Made for Cookbook tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 22, 2011

Nice and flavorful. Not dissimilar to what I make myself. Well done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheKurgan March 13, 2011

This was pretty good. Great comfort food. Made the gravy just didn't have the sherry but it was still good. Sure I will make again....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vlynn November 06, 2010

The perfect recipe for this comfort food! I stuck to the recipe except for omitting the sherry since we didn't have any on hand. It was so delicious! Even the picky eaters (1 and 5) loved it! This will be a staple in our household now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebier February 22, 2010
Hamburger Steak and Onions With Gravy