Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hamburger Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hamburger Soup

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2001

      Good one even for cold nights in Toronto.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2002

      I made this soup and Brenda's "Homemade Bread" today for dinner. Both were great. I used homemade tomato juice and it was too tart for my taste so I added a can of tomato soup plus a can of water. That toned down the tartness, but, now it had too much tomato taste. So I added a can of chicken broth. I also put a big clove of garlic through a garlic press and added that too. That did the trick for me. I simmered it for about two and a half hours because I wanted it thicker. Today was a very cold day and it hit the spot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      I made this for my husband and it is now a favorite. Perfect comfort food for a cold day. I left out the cabbage and added the following spices parsley, basil, oregano, worcestershire and a couple of bay leafs. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2003

      Made this for dinner last night, and well . . I had to jazz the flavor up a bit. It was a little too bland for my family, so I added (to already inclusive 46 ounce V-8 juice) two cups of Spicy Hot V-8, two T. of Pickapeppa sauce and 1/2 cup quick pearl barley. Next time, I will add an extra 1/2 lb. of hamburger, and 4 potatoes instead of three. I had made some classic white bread in the bread machine, served it with this soup, and man o'man, was it ever good!! It was a great supper, and I'll definitely make it again! Thanks, Bob Ross!! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      Excellent, easy soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      My husband and I really enjoyed this soup. It was very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      This is a very nice, simple soup. I only put one-third the amount of tomato juice called for, and substituted water for the remaining liquid. Also, I used veggie crumbles instead of hamburger meat because we try to eat mostly vegetarian meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      This was great. I didn't have tomato juice so used two cups of home frozen tomatos and an 8 oz can of tomato sauce. I cooked in the crock pot and added some dumplings. Yum. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      Mmmmm. From one Albertan to another! It's perfect for that cold windy, winter day!! Left overs have already been spoken for! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      Very good. I used the V8 and followed the recipe as written. I did add a can of beef broth for extra liquid, and stretch. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Just made this soup and it was so easy to make. the only ingredient i didnt have was the cabbage. Didnt change anything else though, this is a deeeeelicious soup. Thank you for sharing. definetly a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      i like this soup when i have everything at home

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      Very good. I added a few other spices including red pepper flakes and worcestershire. We ate it with nacho chips. Next time I might try to add a little vinegar and sugar or a packet of taco seasonings. I might also thin it out a little by using less hamburger or more juice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      I thought this was excellent! I used Spicy V8, and that is what did the trick for me. By not using low-sodium V-8, this is a kind of high in salt recipe, but soooo gooood. You could try different varieties of onion soup too (mushroom, golden, etc). Added comment: This is excellent with Fritos mixed in, by the way... :p

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      Delicious and very filling! Also a new comfort food for me (as if I needed yet another!) :) Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      Very good quick soup. I added fresh squash and mixed vegies for a little more depth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      This was very good. Quick and easy to make. The DH loved it and so did the little ones. Will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      I was wanting something quick and easy for Christmas lunch. I decided on this soup as I wanted to use up some ingredients in my cupboard and fridge. I did add more celery, carrots and added some mushrooms and 1/2 cup lentils. By this time, it was so thick, I did not add the potatoes. I added 1 chicken cube and about 2 cups of water, to thin it out. I was really pleased with the results. I highly recommend this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      I chose to spice this soup up with cayenne, a little montreal steak seasoning, chili powder and crushed chili peppers. Couple of changes: added a cup of chicken broth and only used 2 med potatoes which I thought was plenty. And, after hearing "this would be good with mushrooms" 200 times with other recipes, I automatically included them for my husband - some quartered, some sliced. Cheese is a good topping and I bet sour cream, bacon and green onions would be too. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      Excellent! I served it with fresh-baked French bread. . .yum. The only thing I would change next time is (carnivore that I am) I'd probably double the amount of meat. This is a recipe I've tried to find for years - thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hamburger Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (783 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 476.9
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    25%
    Total Fat 13.5 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 76.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1615.9 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 10.0 g
    40%
    Sugars 20.6 g
    82%
    Protein 32.0 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites