Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hamburger Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hamburger Soup

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2012

      I did not have any canned tomatoes so I chopped up 3 roma tomatoes and threw those in instead. I also substituted 1/4 cup of v8 for the ketchup. I didn't add the seasoning salt but I did use the full amount of broth. I didn't think it was overly salty until we started in on the left overs. So I do think I will decrease the broth next time. I like lots of veggies in my soup so I used 4 carrots and two stalks of celery. Also, instead of barley I used white rice. Very good! I will definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      This was very good! I didn't have bouillon cubes so I used 6 tsp. of the granules instead. The diced tomatoes I used were fire roasted as well which added a nice touch. I also added 10oz frozen corn (thawed) and 1 celery stalk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      Very good soup! Used 4 bouillon cubes and an extra cup of water. Out of carrots, so subbed with frozen mixed veggies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      I was given this recipe years ago, and it only called for 2 bouillon cubes. I can't imagine increasing that number! I do, however, use 4 carrots instead of two. Everything else remains the same, and it has always gotten rave reviews from my family and friends. It's even better if it sits a day after making it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      May 12, 2009 I thought this was good and hubby liked it too. As another reviewer mentioned I only needed 1 tsp of seasoned salt and that was with less bullion so people definitely need to be careful! It was getting rather thick toward the end and I wanted more tomato flaver so I stired in a 12 oz can of V-8 which did the trick on both counts. One could easily add macaroni to this in place of the barly although it wouldn't freeze very well. Update: I think I have found the mix I like. I replaced the ketchup with a 6 oz can of tomato paste. I used two or three bullion cubes (the big ones) and brown rice. I also added 1c sliced celery. I'm still finding it needs much more water than called for. I think I used at least 8 cups.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      This was the best,as usual,i made a couple of changes, used 2c.beef broth in place of the water and bouillon.Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      Everyone loved this soup, I let it cook a little longer so it was nice and thick, added some corn and a smidge more barley. made a huge amount , thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Loved this soup. I made it for me, my husband, sister and her 12 year old son and they really enjoyed it and it is all gone! I did not have barley so I substituted Orzo pasta instead and it turned out great. Will definately make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      This recipe is amazing. I doubled the recipe and used one can of tomatoes and one can of tomato soup, omitting the ketchup. It was AWESOME!! I will make this every week I look forward to coming home to a warm bowl of hearty soup. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Very tasty and easy to make. I only used 4 bouillon cubes. A little hot sauce is good if you like a little heat. You can change the soup by using different vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      THIS IS AWESOME!!!! Made it exactly like the recipe except I used 1 quart of home canned tomatoes. May use one or two less bouillon cubes next time to cut back the salt but, even so we loved this soup. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Made this exactly as written except used 1 1/2 lbs ground beef, and sprinkled w/grated parmesan cheese. Served this with your Crusty Grilled Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      I really didn't like this soup. I thought it was way too salty and plain. I also had a hard time getting past the addition of catsup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      Awesome recipe. So easy to throw together. I add a little garlic and crushed red pepper flakes for some spice. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      Made this soup the other day really enjoyed it Had to take a batch over to my mother's. Now she wants the recipe. So easy to make great for a cool fall day and very filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      Comfort food for a rainy day! I put all the ingredients (uncooked) in the crockpot, plus a half cup of barley, some celery, and dried oregano. It took 7 hours on low. I was worried about it being too salty, so I only used 3 teaspoons of bouillion and a half teaspoon of seasoned salt. It came out perfect. The ketchup and the seasoned salt give it a savory flavor, and I think the hamburger juices (since it cooked in the crockpot and wasn't drained) enhanced that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      Aweome soup! I added some celery, an extra cup of water and 2 more boullion cubes(we like lots of juice to sop up with my homemade bread) but other than followed the recipe exactly. Everyone loved it here (trust me when I say that is an almost impossible task!) Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2005

      I love this recipe! I have made it twice..first with leftover corn and egg noodles and the second time I used cooked elbow macaroni with peas and a little garlic. I have shared it with friends and they all loved it, too. Thanks for sharing...Viv

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      This is really good! I made some last night, and had a bowl for dinner tonight. The only thing I changed was that I didn't use the seasoned salt(didn't think I'd need it after the 6 cubes of bouillion), and it was still plenty salty for my tastes--might use a cube or two less next time. Also, I added a couple ribs of chopped celery, and a cup of frozen baby lima beans, because I like more of a stew-like soup. I agree--I think it would be really good with peas, or corn mixed in with it as well, and definitely some homemade bread would be tasty--thanks for posting such a yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2004

      Made this for lunch today. This is a delicious thick and hearty soup that was voted five star by all. A request for suggestions for cooking buffalo brought in a good number of recipes which I will be working my way through. Thanks to Hey Jude's recommendation,I now have another wonderful hamburger soup to add to my cook book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hamburger Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.3
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    37%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 30.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 723.7 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Lawry's Seasoned Salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites