21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I did not have any canned tomatoes so I chopped up 3 roma tomatoes and threw those in instead. I also substituted 1/4 cup of v8 for the ketchup. I didn't add the seasoning salt but I did use the full amount of broth. I didn't think it was overly salty until we started in on the left overs. So I do think I will decrease the broth next time. I like lots of veggies in my soup so I used 4 carrots and two stalks of celery. Also, instead of barley I used white rice. Very good! I will definitely be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
junkmail November 05, 2012

This was very good! I didn't have bouillon cubes so I used 6 tsp. of the granules instead. The diced tomatoes I used were fire roasted as well which added a nice touch. I also added 10oz frozen corn (thawed) and 1 celery stalk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michellemo87 March 08, 2012

Very good soup! Used 4 bouillon cubes and an extra cup of water. Out of carrots, so subbed with frozen mixed veggies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkarooni October 26, 2011

I was given this recipe years ago, and it only called for 2 bouillon cubes. I can't imagine increasing that number! I do, however, use 4 carrots instead of two. Everything else remains the same, and it has always gotten rave reviews from my family and friends. It's even better if it sits a day after making it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaron80 October 02, 2011

May 12, 2009 I thought this was good and hubby liked it too. As another reviewer mentioned I only needed 1 tsp of seasoned salt and that was with less bullion so people definitely need to be careful! It was getting rather thick toward the end and I wanted more tomato flaver so I stired in a 12 oz can of V-8 which did the trick on both counts. One could easily add macaroni to this in place of the barly although it wouldn't freeze very well. Update: I think I have found the mix I like. I replaced the ketchup with a 6 oz can of tomato paste. I used two or three bullion cubes (the big ones) and brown rice. I also added 1c sliced celery. I'm still finding it needs much more water than called for. I think I used at least 8 cups.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker May 18, 2010

This was the best,as usual,i made a couple of changes, used 2c.beef broth in place of the water and bouillon.Yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
p.becker April 19, 2010

Everyone loved this soup, I let it cook a little longer so it was nice and thick, added some corn and a smidge more barley. made a huge amount , thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jln's mom December 02, 2009

Loved this soup. I made it for me, my husband, sister and her 12 year old son and they really enjoyed it and it is all gone! I did not have barley so I substituted Orzo pasta instead and it turned out great. Will definately make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Beauchamp July 23, 2009

This recipe is amazing. I doubled the recipe and used one can of tomatoes and one can of tomato soup, omitting the ketchup. It was AWESOME!! I will make this every week I look forward to coming home to a warm bowl of hearty soup. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YvetteBoutin February 27, 2009

Very tasty and easy to make. I only used 4 bouillon cubes. A little hot sauce is good if you like a little heat. You can change the soup by using different vegetables.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbacious September 14, 2008
Hamburger Soup