46 Reviews

Making this right now but improvised as we do not have all the ingredients. We are using ground beef, egg noddles, low sodium beef broth instead of water for the beef flavor you'd get with ramen, and canned peas and corn. I'll let you know how it turns out improvised, but I will absolutely be trying this the regular way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mattoxsadie December 15, 2015

Can't get over how quick and easy this was. And how GREAT it tasted! Such a great weeknight meal, this disappeared super quickly in my house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog November 03, 2015

Love this my mom used to make it when we were kids! Just came across this recipe thank you! I followed the first directions but doubled the noodles and added a cup of water

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky September 07, 2015

Super easy and super tasty! I followed the 2nd way of making this dish by boiling the noodles separately and adding them in at the end. I also didn't have frozen vegetables on hand, so I used a can of mixed vegetables and it still came out great. Great quick and delicious meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChaCha3 September 04, 2014

I've been making something like this for years. The way I do it is cook the noodles separately, mix them with the ground beef (or pork), add a bit of soy sauce, sesame oil and ginger paste (out of the tube). As soon as your meat is done cooking, it all comes together quite fast. I love to make this when I just don't feel like cooking. I gave this recipe 5 stars even though I haven't made as written. I just wanted to give my 2 cents without dinging the original recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norahwynn October 14, 2013

This was a hit at our house tonight. After a busy day I was looking for something quick to make and this fit the bill. I added onion and garlic powder to the meat as it was browning and then continued with the recipe using the instructions in step 6. We added soy sauce to individual servings as desired. Thx for sharing this, I will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word April 28, 2012

This is actually a 2nd review of this recipe I'm making, because I've made a few changes to fit my current "starving student" life-style. First of all, this is a really cheap recipe to begin with, and that I love! But, the recent Taco Bell 35% beef scandal gave me an idea; if they can use 35% beef, why can't I?

So, I use 1/3 lb of beef, and 2 cups of TVP (textured vegetable protein or vegetarian beef replacement - I find it in the bulk section of WinCo stores) and cook it with the 2 packs ramon seasoning (I use oriental) and about 1 cup of water to hydrate the TVP... when the beef is cooked I add the veggies. I generally cook 3 packages of ramon for the dish, so the 3rd seasoning packet will usually go in with the noodles while cooking. All in all, this recipe costs me about $1.50 to feed 2 people.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VelcrowMistress February 12, 2011

This was a good quick, easy meal. It was a little bland, and when my SO added soy sauce he thought it got too salty. The 2 YO liked it though, so I may try it again with some additions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in AK October 01, 2010

Made this tonight, my daughter asked for thirds which never happens. What is so great about this is that it tastes great, is inexpensive to make, and makes enough to feed a very hungry family of four. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2J&A January 07, 2010

I used chop suey vegetables. Since a few mentioned it tasted bland I added garlic, ginger, and soy sauce. This recipe is so versatile. This is an enjoyable, inexpensive meal and very quick and easy to prepare. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forthefunofit May 11, 2009
Hamburger Skillet Supper