42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've been making something like this for years. The way I do it is cook the noodles separately, mix them with the ground beef (or pork), add a bit of soy sauce, sesame oil and ginger paste (out of the tube). As soon as your meat is done cooking, it all comes together quite fast. I love to make this when I just don't feel like cooking. I gave this recipe 5 stars even though I haven't made as written. I just wanted to give my 2 cents without dinging the original recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norahwynn October 14, 2013

This was a hit at our house tonight. After a busy day I was looking for something quick to make and this fit the bill. I added onion and garlic powder to the meat as it was browning and then continued with the recipe using the instructions in step 6. We added soy sauce to individual servings as desired. Thx for sharing this, I will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word April 28, 2012

This is actually a 2nd review of this recipe I'm making, because I've made a few changes to fit my current "starving student" life-style. First of all, this is a really cheap recipe to begin with, and that I love! But, the recent Taco Bell 35% beef scandal gave me an idea; if they can use 35% beef, why can't I?

So, I use 1/3 lb of beef, and 2 cups of TVP (textured vegetable protein or vegetarian beef replacement - I find it in the bulk section of WinCo stores) and cook it with the 2 packs ramon seasoning (I use oriental) and about 1 cup of water to hydrate the TVP... when the beef is cooked I add the veggies. I generally cook 3 packages of ramon for the dish, so the 3rd seasoning packet will usually go in with the noodles while cooking. All in all, this recipe costs me about $1.50 to feed 2 people.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VelcrowMistress February 12, 2011

This was a good quick, easy meal. It was a little bland, and when my SO added soy sauce he thought it got too salty. The 2 YO liked it though, so I may try it again with some additions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in AK October 01, 2010

Made this tonight, my daughter asked for thirds which never happens. What is so great about this is that it tastes great, is inexpensive to make, and makes enough to feed a very hungry family of four. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2J&A January 07, 2010

I used chop suey vegetables. Since a few mentioned it tasted bland I added garlic, ginger, and soy sauce. This recipe is so versatile. This is an enjoyable, inexpensive meal and very quick and easy to prepare. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forthefunofit May 11, 2009

UPDATED: I remade this recipe on 2/24/09. I had only a half a pound of the ground beef, used the same amount of noodles, and cut back to 1 1/2 cups of mixed veggies. This time around I added a small amount of garlic powder to the meat as it was browning.And for just the two of us,it worked out just fine.My SO added soy sauce to his, but I liked mine as it was. Thanks for posting, and "Keep Smiling:)" I first made this on August 5th,2005 and this is that review, this is better if you cook the noodles seperate,drain then add season packet.then pour into meat & veggie mix,better flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � February 25, 2009

I made this with the two packages of ramen, and I did add more than 2 cups of veggies (I didn't measure) so I added some low-sodium beef bullion powder to make up for it. It was still really bland. But it's so incredibly fast and easy that I think it's worth playing around with (onions, garlic, maybe even tomatoes?) in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mayness February 03, 2009

This recipe is not for us. Only 1 of my 3 children would eat more than 1 bite (I always make them eat at least 1 bite of a new dish). I made this with 2 packs of the noodles and seasoning, but the dish still turned out bland. I give it 2 stars on taste, but 5 on easiness to make, so I will compromise at 3 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys January 05, 2009

Oh man, this is DELICIOUS. And so ridiculously easy and fast. I cook the noodles as normally would and then add to the rest. I added fresh mushrooms and sliced water chesnuts to this and also cooked my carrots with brown sugar and butter to make them sweet. (If you do all this, you may want to add another half a lb of meat and two packets of noodles. This made supper for three and lunch for us all the next day, hahaha!) I added soy sauce, too after it was finished. This is one of my favourite foods now. It's so delish I giggle when I eat it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelli October 19, 2008
Hamburger Skillet Supper