Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hamburger Skillet Dinner a Fresh Take on Hamburger Helper Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hamburger Skillet Dinner a Fresh Take on Hamburger Helper

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2009

      This was great. My family got up for seconds and thirds which is very rare for us since we try not to eat past the full feeling. This was a great way for me to use some Zuc since I never know exactly what to do with it but always buy it. I did make a few adjustments just for what I had on hand. I used 3/4cup bottled mushroom stems/pcs. 1/2tsp thyme, 2 cups tomato sauce and elbow pasta. I used grated swiss cheese and the fam. topped theirs with parm. chz. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      My family loved this simple but delicious recipe. I actually used Prego's chunky garden sauce because it has zucchini already as well as plenty of other veggies. I also used can mushrooms and minced garlic instead. Even as a leftover dish it was sooo good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      This is a standby recipe that I've made over a dozen times. Delicious! I omit the zucchini, mushrooms, and cheese, but otherwise as written, and I double it for my large family. Thank you for this great one pot dinner recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      This was good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I needed to add more liquid to cook up the spaghetti. I just dumped some more sauce and water in, I didn't measure it. I also didn't add the mushrooms as I am not a fan. I used mozzarella cheese and just dumped some in. We all enjoyed this but thought it was a bit sweet. I don't normally put sugar in my sauce so next time I would omit that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      my favorite meal of all time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Excellent lighter version of real spaghetti...great for left over veggies. I added a tsp of dried parsley and marjoram (light oregano taste, my new favorite, especially for my summer squash stir fry) mushrooms, chopped red onion, a tsp minced jar roasted garlic, chopped fresh mushrooms, one can of drained sliced carrots chopped and 8 oz spaghetti broken into thirds. Make sure pasta is submerged in liquid...then topped with mild cheddar (I think pepper jack would be good.) Was fresh tasting and will be a saved recipe that will be different every time I make! Thanks northernmom for a delightful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      I also added fresh ground pepper. I topped it with parmesean cheese. This was just OK. It didn't have enough zing. Maybe next time I will put some fennel in it...if there is a next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      I used a pound of Tinkyada Gluten Free pasta, a large can of spagetti sauce and 3 cups of water. I used three stalks of celery, a large onion, a chopped red pepper, the zucchini and three large handfuls of chopped spinach. One pot, fast, tasty and healthy. The perfect dinner! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I'm giving it four stars because my picky picky kids ate it up. Hubby and I did not care for it much though. It was edible and we did eat it but I think our tastes have changed since the days of college where we ate Hamburger Helper several times a week. I used marinara and had to add quite a bit more water than the 1 cup called for in the recipe. I didn't have zucchini but used some broccoli cores and shredded carrots to get the veggies in my kids. I will most definitely make again for them, but hubby and I will probably have more grown-up food. :) Oh I used egg noodles instead of spaghetti to make it more like Hamburger Helper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      This was yummy and will definately make again. I used my food processor to chop the zucchini very fine, and no one could tell it was in the recipe! I also added a little more water and a little more sauce, because I live at high altitude and it took longer to cook. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      Good, quick weeknight supper with only one pan to wash. Great way to get those veggies into a meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      Great and easy. It's a keeper. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      Absolutely wonderful....Thanks for the recipe. My famaily loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      This recipe will become one of my regulars, Northernmom! I used a lb.of hamburg/onions already cooked from OAMC, added everything else and heated it all up in my electric fry pan. I used an entire 26 oz. jar of sphaghetti sauce and needed to add an extra cup of water. I found my was cooked in about 20 minutes. My picky DD didn't care for the zucchini but no surprise there! After dinner, I realized that I had forgotten the cheese but we didn't even miss it. Thanks for this keeper, I'm sure I will use it with other pastas and other veggies, too. It's a great one pot meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      This really does taste like hamburger helper, but it has the fresh vegetables. I chopped the zucchini small enough that even my non-vegetable eating son ate it. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      This recipe is wonderful! So easy!! I used shredded cheddar and my family ate every last bite, and I doubled the recipe! Thanks for submitting, we love it and will have it again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      Definiely needs salt for my family. I doubled the recipe, leaving out the zucchini, which I didn't have. Everybody liked it, but the salt shaker was very active!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      Made this just like the recipe - except added salt and freshly ground pepper. I like the fact that this recipe has fresh veggies ...makes it much healthier than "normal" spaghetti and definitely much better and healthier than that icky box stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2004

      is easy and very good i dont like using the mixes either i always have to add more noodles to the darned things and they have to much salt for me thanks for posting this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2004

      This was wonderful! Very easy and quick and it tasted great! I used onion flakes and garlic powder instead of the fresh onion and garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hamburger Skillet Dinner a Fresh Take on Hamburger Helper

    Serving Size: 1 (321 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 389.9
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    31%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 68.8 mg
    22%
    Sodium 348.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 27.3 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites