Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hamburger-Rice Skillet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hamburger-Rice Skillet

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2006

      This had a lot more flavor than I expected; DH loved the heartiness of this. I diced in mushrooms I needed to use, added extra garlic, and used brown rice. B/c of the brown rice, I needed about a cup more of water and about 20 min more cooking time. This is a great weeknight staple. I paired with a tossed salad and green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      Just excellent. Instead of tomatoes/sauce I used a jar of Ragu. I also added 1 tsp each of basil, thyme, and oregano. Added extra garlic, too. Wonderful dish my whole family enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      I too have Better Homes and Gardens Low-Cost Cooking cookbook, but hadn't noticed it either. Good thing you posted the recipe, otherwise it still would be unnoticed. I don't care for green pepper, so used red and I used beef stock instead of water. Served the cheese at the table.:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      This was really bland to me. The men in my life liked it and it made good leftovers for them, but I didn't care for it. I even added some italian sausage and italian seasoning, but it didn't seem to help much. My 2 year old did like it and ate quite a bit of it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      I've made a variation of this for years, but instead of rice, I put uncooked elbow macaroni in,along with an undrained can of corn and some chili powder.(not enough to make it taste like chili). After everything is cooked, top with the cheese and cover until the cheese is slightly melted. Yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      I dont usually do one skillet meals but this was not bad, added jalapeƱos, used v8 instead of sauce and added extra sharp cheddar at the end. Hubby had a second helping and Miss Vicky woofed for some so it must be good :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      We enjoyed this easy meal. I always have trouble with the rice cooking in these things so next time I think I'll use cooked rice like another reviewer. I'll be making this again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      This one was quick and easy, which is what I was looking for. I used 1 1/2 cups of cooked rice I had left over (and omitted the water), so it went even faster. I used 1/2 cup of frozen chopped bell peppers and 1/2 cup of frozen chopped onions. It didn't look that appetizing to the kids initially (one is very finicky) so I let them scoop the casserole up with Fritos Scoops or roll it up in flour tortillas. We also added a bit of sour cream on top to enhance the flavor and some ground red pepper for those who like it a bit spicy. With a little modification, this one turned into something everyone enjoyed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      Great, quick dinner. Easy to make and delicious. So good that my husband finished off the supposed left overs. I'll definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      This is great! Though I had to leave out the green peppers, it was still really good. Very easy to throw together and a good comfort food meal. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I have made this recipe many times now. My entire family, encluding a 3 and 5 year old love it. I don't always have the green pepper on hand, but it's great with or without it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      This recipe is great!! I have one like this recipe. However I think that your recipe is much better tasting than mine. I had everything on hand and whipped it up in a matter mintues. I did not change one thing. Thank You for sharing. Hugs

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      I used Muir Glen Fire Roasted tomatoes in this. They added a great smoky flavor. We love this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      This was great, all of my family loved it! I used a spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce, since that is what I had on hand. I also used chicken broth instead of water. So flavorful and yummy and simple! I will definitely be making this again! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      Delicious and easy! Substituted diced carrots for bell pepper and added some beef broth, red wine, ground black pepper, and red hot. I sauteed the onion and carrots for a bit before adding the beef. Thanks for posting...we'll make it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      The family enjoyed this meal, it was when we were eating I realized I'd left out the hamburger, but didn't miss it. Quick and easy meal to make on a weeknight. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      I think this is a great family meal staple. It's super-easy, and especially kid-friendly. I thought the flavor was extremely pleasing, although not really "gourmet." It's more like comfort food. I felt SOOO good eating it. Some things that I think add extra flavor are: most people when they "brown" hamburger meat, really, they kinda steam it instead, because there's a bit of moisture in hamburger, perhaps especially if it was previously frozen. This would make for a bland product, I think. I used fresh hamburger, dried it well before putting in the skillet, and I cooked it on high, so that I could truly get a "browning." Then I carmelized the onions, and added lots of extra garlic (maybe 5-6 cloves). I also used red pepper because we don't care for green. And of course, fresh ingredients are the bomb. I used home-canned tomatoes--yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      I have this Better Homes cookbook and used to make this quite often. Thanks for reminding me of it! Using broth instead of water and a bit of red pepper flakes makes this a good dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      This was good and everyone enjoyed it. We didn't really find it bland. I used mozzarella cheese. The cans of diced tomatoes are 14.5 oz now but it didn't seem to make a difference. I would not try to make this serve 6 as a one-dish meal, however. It can comfortably serve 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      Good... easy prep and clean up, but no wow factor. Will make again with corn though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hamburger-Rice Skillet

    Serving Size: 1 (331 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 346.3
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    36%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 57.4 mg
    19%
    Sodium 744.6 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 19.6 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes