27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great jumping off point recipe for me! I used frozen hash browns to help speed things along, mixed in salt and dried onion. Then I poured the sauce over the potatoes, then the hamburger/onion mixture, and then a bag of green beans on top- it looks so scrumptious! I'm going to top it with cheese at the end and let it melt over the green beans. I can tell it's going to be a killer casserole.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amberoseinjune April 11, 2013

I loved it!!!! I used red potatoes, I seasoned the hamburger with season all, and I added season salt and shredded cheese the last 5 minutes of baking.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookwithjess August 06, 2010

gosh this was delicious, really the only change I made was I used Italian sausage meat in place of ground beef and used red potatoes as that is all I had, I used whole milk and sauteed a small onion, fresh garlic and red chili flakes in the butter before adding in the other ingredients, this is a keeper, thanks for sharing pattikay!...Kitten:)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz May 02, 2007

I made this yesterday. I did add some spices to the meat otherwise I think it would have been too bland and it still needed more. However, it was delicious. I'm giving it a 5 because it's wonderful comfort food. I will experiment with different spice sets though because it needs something to give it more flavor. However, I would eat it as written too. My picky grown daughter had seconds, something she never does. Hubby said it was ok. He said growing up he had to eat too many Hamburger Helper meals and that's probably why. There is no comparison to Hamburger Helper and this meal because this meal actually has flavor and doesn't have a process taste that the boxed meals do. I will definitely be making this again! My other daughter really liked it too! Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kilyena March 21, 2015

I made this yesterday and it was delicious. I only altered it to add some ketchup to the meat after it cooked, added bacon and a can of drained diced tomatoes prior to final layer of potatoes and then the last 10 minutes I topped it with French's crunchy cheese onions. The dish really tasted like a bacon cheese burger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary S. March 03, 2015

So good! The only change I made was to add a dash of dried oregano to the hamburger. Loved the cheese sauce. Next time, will try to add some frozen veggies as other reviewers suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen January 09, 2015

Pretty good. I added some frozen vegetables. Also used Velveeta cheese as I didn't have any cheddar. I think it would have been better, had more flavor with the cheddar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea January 04, 2015

Made this the other night for my family - they loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sissy1263 January 02, 2013

Great recipe! My family loves this. It's comfort food at it's best. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjpayne1 May 26, 2012
Hamburger Potato Cheese Casserole