Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hamburger Potato Cheese Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hamburger Potato Cheese Casserole

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2010

      I loved it!!!! I used red potatoes, I seasoned the hamburger with season all, and I added season salt and shredded cheese the last 5 minutes of baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      gosh this was delicious, really the only change I made was I used Italian sausage meat in place of ground beef and used red potatoes as that is all I had, I used whole milk and sauteed a small onion, fresh garlic and red chili flakes in the butter before adding in the other ingredients, this is a keeper, thanks for sharing pattikay!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      This is a great jumping off point recipe for me! I used frozen hash browns to help speed things along, mixed in salt and dried onion. Then I poured the sauce over the potatoes, then the hamburger/onion mixture, and then a bag of green beans on top- it looks so scrumptious! I'm going to top it with cheese at the end and let it melt over the green beans. I can tell it's going to be a killer casserole.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      Made this the other night for my family - they loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

    • on May 26, 2012

      Great recipe! My family loves this. It's comfort food at it's best. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      It was good and easy will make it again whole family liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      very good taste, I especially like the cheese sauce. I did add some seasoning in the meat when I cooked it and a tossed a few bacon bits in the casserole too. My boyfriend liked it so much he practically ate the whole thing! I think next time I am going to experiment with it by cooking the meat with taco seasoning, it'll be yummy : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This is a comforting, home-style dish. I used 1 whole small onion and Velveeta cheese in place of the shredded cheese. I didn't really notice any pools of grease in this dish, probably because I used Velveeta. They're right when they say this dish has a tendency to stick to the pan. I sprayed the pan with cooking spray, but it still stuck a bit, due to the cheese sauce overcooking a bit. I will make this recipe again. It's cheap eating at its best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      This casserole turned out very good I thought. I didn't use onions but I did use green peppers & garlic and I think it added alot of flavor. I used mild cheddar but I think the sharp would have been better. I also added cheese on top when I took off the foil to give it a more cheesy look.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      This was very good :) Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      This is a nice easy casserole. We all liked the flavor. It should definitly have some salt added to the mixture while it bakes to enhance the flavors a bit more. I didn't have Sharp Cheddar cheese so I just used a blend of shredded cheese which seemed to work fine. Overall its a solid mid-week dinner dish. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      I liked it the first time I tried it but I REALLY loved this recipe with ham instead of hamburger. Next time I think I will add green beans to it too. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      This is very yummy and easy. I loved it. So did my bf who took the left overs to lunch yesterday. thanks for a great recipe Made for RECIPE SWAP #15 - April 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Good Old comfort food! No problems with clean up-sprayed the pan prior. I didn't bother too much with layering-just did a layer of potatoes, 1-1/2 lbs gr. beef, a thin layer of potatoes-just enough to cover-S&P and cheese sauce. If I thought of it I would have added garlic-garlic makes everything even better...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Really good comfort food! I had a little grease on top, but after it sits for a few minutes, it goes away. I sprayed my dish first, and used a cheddar jack combo. Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Yep - pretty darn good! Didn't change anything except for adding more onions. I used two small white onions in the beef mixture. To avoid the grease pools and pan sticking I layered the sauce with the potatoes. So I did beef, potatoes, sauce three times reserving the most sauce for the top. This ensured the fat was evenly distributed, avoiding any grease on top and ensuring the pan remained nice a lubricated and hence washed out easily! Great recipe - will definitely make again. Very frugal too... more so if you use powdered skim milk, which I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      This was a tasty meal on a cold night, but I did have a problem in that I guess I didn't use a deep enough baking dish. My house looked like the inside of a smoking club! Oh, well. Live and learn! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Comfort food at its best. What a wonderful meal to have on a cold winter day. I followed the recipe exacty and it was absolutely delicious. I will be making this often. Thanks, pattikay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      I made this one out of the four dishes I had to make last night and it was great. I only had Mexican blend of cheese and it still turned out great. I cooked my ground turkey in garlic and 1/2 of a medium onion. I also topped the casserole with 1 bag of frozen green beans during the last 15 minutes of cooking. I sprayed my 9x13 glass with cooking oil and it didn't stick too bad at all. Very tasty my DH loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hamburger Potato Cheese Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (517 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 670.9
     
    Calories from Fat 296
    44%
    Total Fat 32.9 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 18.0 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 117.8 mg
    39%
    Sodium 588.0 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.4 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 32.8 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites