Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hamburger Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hamburger Pie

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2002

      This has been a family favorite for years. It's so quick and easy to make. We've also tried substituting different vegetables and have tried cream of mushroom soup in place of the tomato. We always end up liking the original the best. I have to make enough Hamburger Pie the first night for leftovers for my youngest son. Otherwise, I end up making it 2 nights in a row!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2002

      This was excellent! I added worcestershire sauce to the meat and substituted corn for the green beans(because hubby doesn't like them!) It smelled great while it cooked and we enjoyed it. I will definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      My husband couldn't get enough of this pie, and he ate most of it himself! Main change I made was to put the filling in a pre-made frozen deep dish pie shell. Since that didn't leave much extra room for filling, I omitted most of the veggies from the filling but added half a chopped bell pepper which added some nice flavor. Only other change I made was to prepare the mashed potatoes as I normally would, which means using margarine and some sour cream and garlic powder. Overall, this is a wonderful recipe to tweak and change up how you'd like! Good ol' comfort food at its best.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      This was alright. Nothing spectacular. My kids ate it but no one said much or went for seconds. I think it was the tomato soup/potato/ green bean combo. It just didn't meld for me very well. Love trying new casseroles, this one just didn't hit it for us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Delicious - thank you SharleneW! I am not a confident cook however found this really easy. Great heart warming recipe for a cold winters night. I added chilli flakes and garlic which gave it a bit of a kick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      I think everyone's mom made something similar to this growing up. I jazzed this up a bit...turned the mashed potatoes into garlic mashed potatoes with chives, changed veggies to mixed with beans, corn, peas and added worcestershire sauce to the soup. I would make this again. Thx.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      This is REALLY Good!!! So easy to make and everyone loved it!! I used frozen corn subbed for the beans, This recipe will be made often!! Thank You!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      DH said, at first, that he didn't like it. As he ate it he liked it more. I loved it. I put the cheese over the ground beef and used a little cheese for garnish. Next time I'll eliminate the beans and put a biscuit mix on the top so that he'll enjoy it as much as I. I added garlic to the ground beef and used instant garlic mashed potatoes on top (which I would not recommend unless you go very easy on the liquid). Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I made this—and I don't know if I was expecting some sort of magic to happen based on the reviews others gave the recipe—but it was just simply OK. It was good, it was warm on a winter night, and I am glad I tried it, but it wasn't fantastic. It tastes like what it is made out of . .. all good ingredients that taste nice together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Very good. Makes a nice supper dish. I added some left over kernel corn about quarter of a cup and half a cup of left over rice. Will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      MMM, MMM GOOD!!! I made this tonight because I was getting sick of the same old. It was really tasty and my husband is fussy but went back for seconds of this. I did use frozen corn instead of green beans, just because of my husbands personal taste but it was so yummy with corn I can't imagine using any other veggie in it. I can't wait to make it again, because it was super easy to prepare after a busy day at work!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This is great, simple comfort food. I've made it several times now using both homemade mashed potatos and instant. Both were delicious and crowd pleasing. Thanks for posting a KEEPER. You don't need to change a thing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      This was the bomb ! Thank you for posting !!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Thanks for sharing this recipe. It was yummy. My hubby wasn't a big fan of the green beans. It needed maybe a little of extra seasoning I think. I loved the potato & cheese topping (my favorite part). I will make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      This is the same recipe DH's mom used when he was a kid and I now make it for our kids. Great easy recipe and I do use instant potatoes or Simply Potatoes brand mashed potatoes. Thanks for posting, you saved me the trouble.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      This was soooo good! I modified it just a little by using frozen mixed veggies in place of the beans and I added a couple tbsp of worcestershire sauce. I also used four cheese instant potatoes instead of homemade potatoes, only because I didn't have any potatoes on hand. It was fantastic and I will probably make it this way every time. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Husband loved it. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      Very tasty, everyday comfort food. Love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      This should be illegal, it's so good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      I've also been making this for years and like it very much. I use frozen green beans instead of the canned ones.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hamburger Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (314 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.9
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    36%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 90.0 mg
    30%
    Sodium 713.7 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 22.3 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites