51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are absolutely wonderful. I usually use different recipe but this one is better! I did have to add about 1/2 c more flour, plus I worked in another cup or so while kneading. If shaping into hot dog buns, make them a little shorter and a lot skinnier than you think they should be, as they will get a lot bigger. Divide the dough into 16 portions, then shape however you wish. For sandwich buns (larger hot dog buns) about 10-12 portions. So much cheaper than store bought & so easy!! And no preservatives!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Sandra B December 28, 2008

Wonderful! Terrific! Amazing! I don't generally like cold bread, but these were even GREAT the next morning, straight out of the refrigerator! I needed to use OVER EIGHT CUPS of flour, but we've recently had snow melting and I had to add extra flour to all my recipes this week... so, I think that's an environmental thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SiouxzQzz October 16, 2008

These are pretty tasty. I guess I didn't cook mine long enough because they are still gooey (my bad, not the recipes). The freeze like a dream though which is wonderful!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Herb-Cat September 02, 2008

I can't give you anymore than 5 stars. But I can give AA+.as will. I can say thank you Marg for posting such a great recipe and everyone needs to try it.Won't regret it, you will love these, I'm keeping this recipe. Grpa !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA July 20, 2008

Excellent! I used whole wheat flour for 2 cups and rye flour for 1 cup of the total flour. We took them along on a bike trip and used them for hamburgers, tuna sandwiches, and snacks. These tasted good even day-old and two-day-old. I'm keeping this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EvaP July 18, 2008

Super easy! These really did poof up in the oven . They were great as a dinner roll, but didnt really taste much like a hamburger/hot dog bun... They had more of a bread taste.. But very good and I will make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keeferop July 11, 2008

I have made hamburger buns with this recipe twice. Each time I halved the recipe to make 6 large burger buns. The second time I made poppy seed buns by pulling the buns out of the oven at the 10 minute mark, brushing the tops with beaten egg, sprinkle the tops with seeds, and return to the oven for about 10 minutes. Next time I'll try a similar technique to make onion buns. Many thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nick858 July 08, 2008

Thank you!!! I have finally found an easy and fabulous recipe for the buns need. I make bar-b-q pork/beef stuffed buns and this recipe is perfecto for the bun part of it. I'm so thrilled!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raynebow's Mom March 30, 2008

This recipe turned out wonderfully. The whole family enjoyed the rolls and I have a feeling I'll be making them more often. Quite substantial rolls, great taste, I halved the recipe and got 6 large buns out of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaime Lee January 11, 2008
Hamburger or Sandwich Buns or Hot Dog Buns