Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hamburger or Sandwich Buns or Hot Dog Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hamburger or Sandwich Buns or Hot Dog Buns

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2008

      These are absolutely wonderful. I usually use different recipe but this one is better! I did have to add about 1/2 c more flour, plus I worked in another cup or so while kneading. If shaping into hot dog buns, make them a little shorter and a lot skinnier than you think they should be, as they will get a lot bigger. Divide the dough into 16 portions, then shape however you wish. For sandwich buns (larger hot dog buns) about 10-12 portions. So much cheaper than store bought & so easy!! And no preservatives!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Wonderful! Terrific! Amazing! I don't generally like cold bread, but these were even GREAT the next morning, straight out of the refrigerator! I needed to use OVER EIGHT CUPS of flour, but we've recently had snow melting and I had to add extra flour to all my recipes this week... so, I think that's an environmental thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

    • on September 02, 2008

      These are pretty tasty. I guess I didn't cook mine long enough because they are still gooey (my bad, not the recipes). The freeze like a dream though which is wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      I can't give you anymore than 5 stars. But I can give AA+.as will. I can say thank you Marg for posting such a great recipe and everyone needs to try it.Won't regret it, you will love these, I'm keeping this recipe. Grpa !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      Excellent! I used whole wheat flour for 2 cups and rye flour for 1 cup of the total flour. We took them along on a bike trip and used them for hamburgers, tuna sandwiches, and snacks. These tasted good even day-old and two-day-old. I'm keeping this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Super easy! These really did poof up in the oven . They were great as a dinner roll, but didnt really taste much like a hamburger/hot dog bun... They had more of a bread taste.. But very good and I will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      I have made hamburger buns with this recipe twice. Each time I halved the recipe to make 6 large burger buns. The second time I made poppy seed buns by pulling the buns out of the oven at the 10 minute mark, brushing the tops with beaten egg, sprinkle the tops with seeds, and return to the oven for about 10 minutes. Next time I'll try a similar technique to make onion buns. Many thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Thank you!!! I have finally found an easy and fabulous recipe for the buns need. I make bar-b-q pork/beef stuffed buns and this recipe is perfecto for the bun part of it. I'm so thrilled!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      This recipe turned out wonderfully. The whole family enjoyed the rolls and I have a feeling I'll be making them more often. Quite substantial rolls, great taste, I halved the recipe and got 6 large buns out of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      You won't believe how great these are and I made them in half the time stated.I used rapid rise yeast and they were hot and on the table in no time.We had italian sausage on fresh hot dog buns with poppy seeds on them,I got 9 big hot dog and 3 huge hamburger buns.We are having cheeseburgers on the latter tonite. These are awesome and so very easy to do.The taste and texture are great.I will never buy the store bought ones again.My buns turned out just like the ones in the picture,they are very pretty.I did the egg wash and seeds and that made them shiny.My bf said this has made him decide to take me shopping for a bread machine,we are going in the morning.He wants home-made rye bread and I found a recipe here that sounds great.I would like to but I can't give you anymore than 5 stars. I can say thank you Marg for posting such a great recipe and everyone needs to try it.Won't regret it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      These are amazing! I used half whole wheat flour and half all purpose flour. I shaped them into hamburger buns and before baking I brushed them with an egg white and topped with sesame seeds. My husband loved these and I'm afraid I won't be buying buns at the store anymore...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      Wonderful buns, thanks very much for the recipe! g/v

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      I halved the recipe and made the dough in my bread machine. The dough was very easy to work with and the buns came out perfect! It made 8 large buns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      OMG these are soooo good! Making today for the 3rd time. DH takes his lunch to work and these are great for a satisfying sandwich for his lunch! Also made great sloppy joe buns. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      I won't rate this as I don't want to mess up your rating. I tried these but they just didn't came out at all. I followed the steps, had all ingredients but it just didn't worked. I will be doing it again (I don't give up so easily) =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      I have tried several bun recipes and really liked the results, but I've never had the success I had today with this recipe. I halved the recipe and made 6 buns. I followed the recipe and directions exactly as written, and the dough was pure pleasure to knead. The buns rose and baked beautifully, and the flavor was wonderful with our grilled burgers. They are restaurant quality, only better. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Yes, don't buy hamburger buns again, these rocked! I followed the prep exactly but on ingredients I was out of regular sugar so I used brown sugar and only had olive oil so used that. I did add quite a bit more flour when kneading it. I made the whole batch and will throw the extras in the freezer and see how they thaw out. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      My daughter wanted hamburgers for supper and I had no buns. I didn't feel like going to the store so I decided to try my hand at making them. These buns are light and softand have a great flavor. I buttered the tops to keep them soft instead of using the bag trick. The dough is soft and very easy to work with. The kids loved them and now I will never buy another store made bun. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      I made this on the spur of the moment when i realized that i didn't buy enough hamburger buns at the grocery store, and it was so easy and turned out so well i'm adding it to my 'make all the time' recipes. I don't think i'll buy them at the grocery store anymore. i cut the recipe in half and it's just the right amount for our family. i stuck one in the freezer so i can thaw it out in a day or so and see if it's just as good, and if it is i'll make a full batch and store the rest. lol The only thing i changed was adding a bit of garlic and oregano to the dough, delicious!! definitely a sturdier bun than you can buy at the store, perfect for the 'manburgers' my husband loves to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hamburger or Sandwich Buns or Hot Dog Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 314.5
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    42%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 26.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 446.6 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes