51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are the grand daddy of them all! I made half the recipe, and they are huge! Wonderful flavor and texture, I'll be making mushroom swiss burgers tonight! Thank you Marg!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grammabobbie April 30, 2009

Great buns.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
galefrank April 30, 2009

This was an excellent bun - I think it would be better as a dinner roll, because it was super with butter, but that is only my opinion. I halved the recipe, used 1/3 white flour, 2/3 whole wheat flour. I did brush with egg white and sprinkle sesame seeds prior to baking. I made gigantic buns, so I had to increase the cooking time. I will make these again - and soon! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady April 01, 2009

These buns were AWESOME! Definitely not for people who like their buns light and airy, These were serious burger buns, for serious burger people. I got rave reviews from the whole family about them, my other half even brought up how good they were again at bedtime,lol. These would be killer with a chile or a sauce on top, and I think that is how I try them next time. Thank you for an great recipe, I will be using this one often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just J March 24, 2009

These are the only sandwich buns I make anymore- forget about going to the store! The only exception I make it to not add the egg. Without it I don't need any more flour than what is called for. I have found these to be great when made by hand and in the bread maker - the best roll recipe on Recipezaar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bethychan March 05, 2009

These turned out really well. I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 5 cups white flour. I made 10 hamburger buns and 8 hot dog buns.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
longmd401 February 24, 2009

I made these with root beer pulled pork. And this made it 100 times better than it already was. THey were so good my brother in law was eatting them with just butter. Best rolls ever!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pizza Fetish February 23, 2009

I was hesitant on making these because I have never made buns fluffy enough to be good with hamburgers. I was patient and let these rise till the perfect plump big size then baked them. Wow, wow, wow. I have never made yeast buns that have worked out so perfectly before. They were so much better then store bought. I used them with Kittencal's Juicy Hamburger/Burger. Thank you so much. My husband was SOOOO impressed with me :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin January 29, 2009
Hamburger or Sandwich Buns or Hot Dog Buns