30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Many other reviewers said, "this is a good base recipe." I think that's code for, "it's really boring unless you dramatically alter it." Yes, it was super easy. The moisture level was just about right. I thought I would like the simplicity of it, but the result was tremendously bland. My children, who eat anything with beef and potatoes, left their plates mostly untouched. I will certainly use this idea to make dinner in the future, but as written, this recipe is a dud.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Actressdancer November 26, 2012

Nice basic recipe. I added worcestershire and cream cheese. I also substituted dry minced onion for the onion..and layered 2 large carrots (peeled and sliced) with the potatoes. Then I topped it all with (instant) mashed potatoes! My 3 yr old son loved it, as did I. :) Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SeansMom1108 January 17, 2012

I was hunting for something similar to a dish my mother made when I was a child. I loved the texture of the potatoes in this dish, and thought the amount of liquid was exactly right. I also like how easily the flavor can be changed to suit your mood. Thanks for a good, basic recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinay0618 November 17, 2010

This was good and easy. I always have cooked ground beef in the freezer so this is a quick meal to throw together when I want something from the crockpot for dinner that night. I used cream of chicken soup cause I don't like mushroom. I did add a bit more of the spices. We will make this again, I'd like to add carrots and maybe some peas near the end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 October 30, 2008

This was ok - looks strange, and doesn't have much flavor. maybe some changes would spice it up a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ March 08, 2008

This was ok.Needed more seasonings.Kids didnt like it.I think that was due to its looks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtcwifey1031 March 05, 2008

I gave this a 5 star based on some additions I did. I added 2 tsp of curry while browning the beef I addeda 1/4 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of 1/2 and 1/2 for the water and added 1/2 tsp of Garam Marsala to the soup mixture, 1 tablespoon of Leas and Perins. I also added shredded cheese sprinkled between the layers. This was one GREAT crock pot meal! Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lazy Chef 2 January 18, 2008

This was kind of bland. Needs more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lincolnrose May 02, 2007

We really enjoyed this nice easy recipe. I cut the potatoes fairly thin so it just took 7 hours on low. Next time I will add some corn. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy March 01, 2007

We didn't care for this at all. I don't think there is anything wrong with the recipe, it's just a matter of taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess October 24, 2006
Hamburger Hot Pot (crock Pot)