11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My guys really liked the chili mac,I made a double batch. They weren't so keen on the stroganoff though. very convenient to have on hand and easy to make. I stored mine in baby food jars already measured and ready to go. thanks for the great idea.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jln's mom February 13, 2010

This was nice to modify. I made a 1/6 batch for the Chili Mac, since I didn't have that much cornstarch (... and to be safe, since I hate throwing away leftover big batches we end up not liking.) I omited the milk powder and beef boullion, and just added a couple tbsps of water swished around in the tomato can. I also added more spices (tasted as I added); didn't have basil, but tossed in a bit of cumin and a pinch of cinamon (brings out the tomatoes!) I was running out of room in my pot: I boiled 3 times the noodles (we like our pasta!)separately, so didn't add the water to the beef mix. To top it all off, I added pre-cut green onions, red pepper and corn from the freezer. My daughter told me to save this recipe. My son ate three helpings. Easy, healthy, and a kid approved meal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anemone October 05, 2009

I love that I can know the ingredients... ALL of the ingredients! (way better than boxed mixes with mystery ingredients, IMO!) We tried the Lasagna first and it was super tasty. Next time i am going to swap out the broken lasagna noodles for a mini bowtie or similar. The taste was excellent -- which is more than i can say for the boxed mix! LOL ... I love that i mix up the base and can have it on hand to use in a variety of ways! I am passing this idea on to all of my mommy friends :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AdamAndJonahsMom October 29, 2008

What a perfect substitute for the boxed Hamburger Helper! I made the quick lasagna version and it was delicious. I made up a batch and placed it in a jar for a food gift basket for a friend. I'll include the non-perishable items to make all of the recipes, and the recipes handwritten on recipe cards too. I'll never buy the boxed kind again! I just made up another batch for me! Stroganoff is next!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan December 07, 2007

Hi, I made a batch quite a while ago. Memory loss (forgot to post it until I ran accross it again todayIt' great. The sodium is low and I can cut out the onion flakes since DH is alergic. I made the chili mac. I used shell pasta instead of regular macaroni Congrats on a great recipe. Oops, I forgot that I added chili pepper plus red pepper flakes (just a pinch) I love spice Leanne

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef at Heart September 26, 2007

All four variations are delicious. In the last month, I've made one a week, and I don't feel like I'm serving the same dish over and over. Each is easy to prepare and you have a hot meal within 30 min. Great for busy nights! Definitely a staple in my pantry from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Honest October 01, 2008

I made the Strogamoff, it was excellent!! Very simple to put the mix together. My DS who is a very picky eater loved it also. My DH who can taste the difference when I make things from scratch couldn't tell it was homemade!! So I will be keeping this recipe on hand and will try the other varieties soon. Update 6/11/07: I made the chili mac it was delicious. The only change I will make next time is to add more noodles they seemed to get lost.LOL!! And yes DS and DH both loved it, (DS ate two bowls)they said it was really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki Kate June 12, 2007

The only good thing about this recipe is that it thickens well. It has no flavor at all. Since I now have mix left over I am going to try to increase some of the seasonings to get something tastefull out of it. I made the "For Potato Beef Casserole" and it was just flat tasting. I don't know what the nonfat dry milk powder was supposed to do, but it wasn't enough to give this dish a milky taste. Also there seems to be an error in the direction for the water. It called for 3/4 cup of water but you can't possibly cook 6 potatoes in that little bit of water for 30 minutes. I added more water and the water cooked down to almost nothing when it was done, leaving a sauce behind. I would pass on this recipe unless you think you can mess with it to make it taste better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizgirl April 25, 2007

Thanks for sharing. I've been using this recipe for awhile. I jar everything except the meat. It saves time from hunting down the noodles or potatoes(dried). Plus since I shop once a month this is a real money saver.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana in KS February 03, 2007

This is my review of the quick lasagna. It was okay. It was a use what you have kind of night so I used ground turkey instead of hamburger. That may account for the different taste. It just wasn't flavorful enough for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Budgiegirl February 01, 2006
Hamburger Helping Mix (In a Jar)