Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hamburger Helper Rice Oriental Imitation Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hamburger Helper Rice Oriental Imitation

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2013

      Made this for dinner, my kids & husband loved it. Added some bean sprouts and water chestnuts, yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      Excellent and easy! This was just the flavor I was craving. This recipe will be a regular at our table.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2014

      I grew up on the original and this is really close! I did make a couple of changes...I used a packet of Lipton Beefy Onion and used 2 cups of the 10-min "instant" parboiled brown rice and 2 1/2 cups water...(parboiled rice is what those box mixes use) and simmered covered for about 15 min and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2014

      This was really good. I took your advice and put less soy sauce in, I'm glad I did. Thank you for a family pleaser!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      My husband has been missing this for so long, this recipe was a big hit! The only change I made was short grain brown rice, so a bit longer cook time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      Let me preface by saying,with so many people searching for clone recipes of Hamburger Helper Rice Oriental,I can't understand why they stopped selling it!!!This recipe comes close.I'm gonna try 3 cups of water next time and maybe a little more soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      My aunt used to make the original out of the box years ago and I really miss it. I'm not much for stuff out of a box, but I really liked the original. I had made a mock version using beef bouillon that seemed pretty good. This recipe has a little too much salt for me, so I cut all the salt items down to about half. I also used a thin teriyaki marinade in the bottle because I was out of soy sauce. I tend to like the teriyaki flavor better. As my aunt did, I also added a couple of cans of button mushrooms and a few handfuls of salt-free cashews. Really makes a difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      I made this recipe about a month ago and thought it was good yet missing something so I thought I would try again and add 1 box of beef flavor rice aroni ! yum it got the flavor it was missing, I also served it with some chow mein noodles to put on top for crunch! definitely will make it again and the kids loved it 2! thanks Ive been missing this I was a kid!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      Delicious !! My Husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I used pre cooked brown rice and omitted all but 1/2 cup of water. You can really taste the soy sauce in this recipe. We had frozen egg rolls along with it. We never tasted the hamburger helper version but we really like this one. Thank you for the recipe !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2013

      I just registered to this site for one reason: So I could dispute vexsilver's "blunt" review. Rice Oriental has been discontinued since 2007. I had a craving for it and searched online to find out what happened to it. I found this recipe, tried it, and it satisfied my craving. Tastes exactly like I remembered it. Vex is wrong. AZ chef nailed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2013

      OK I'm going to be blunt and say the person who made this recipe has never eatten the original rice oriental. This tastes nothing like rice oriental.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      Despite the fact that I misread it to take 1 1/2 tsp. of black pepper, it turned out really good. I like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      I made this the other night for dinner with some pot stickers and it was so good. I will be making this again for sure. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      This was really good! I added some red pepper flakes to bump up the heat. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hamburger Helper Rice Oriental Imitation

    Serving Size: 1 (290 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 502.5
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    31%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1549.1 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.0 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 27.4 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes