30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very tasty and quickly prepared dish. I made the hamburger gravy and at the same time cooked some elbow macaroni. I drained the elbow macaroni and just stirred the gravy into it. I then served it with mixed vegetables. Delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poohbear Pam April 10, 2003

I loved this gravy, however I used skim milk instead of water. I also used a lot more milk and flour than the recipe called for, so I have a feeling what I made was not what Bangbang intended, but it was still fabulous.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsLizze April 16, 2003

I was skeptical because of the simplicity of the ingredients, but it was full of flavor! The celery salt is crucial, but if using broth instead of water (which I did), it should be reduced to compensate for the saltiness of broth (or the broth should be diluted). I also drained all but one tablespoon of the grease before I added the seasonings. Everyone (ages 2-36) loved this, so I will definitely be fixing it again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Literary Mom August 12, 2004

This recipe was well worth fixing. I didn't have mashed potatoes to fix with it, so I substitued egg noodles instead. My family loved it! We added a side dish of mixed vegies one time, and another with homemade cream-style corn. I will cut back some on the celery salt next time I prepare it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AzureLynn January 26, 2004

My whole family liked this. I was out of celery salt so I just used regular salt and only about 2 tsp. of it and it was still to salty. Next time I will cut salt back. I served this over pieces of toast and got my picky children to eat it as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica Snider June 13, 2003

Delicious!! Just made this with some left over hamburger meat. I made a couple patties, seasoned them then fried them up in a cast iron skillet all the time sprinkling my flour over them and making the gravy. Wow. Then put on some home made mashed potatoes. It was very filling and satisfying. Thank you so much for posting. Will definitely be making again. Oh P.s I did add some heavy cream to even out the flavor so not to salty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evette32713 June 22, 2014

This was very good. It tastes very similar to the way my Mom always made it although it's different. The only thing I changed was using only 1t of the celery salt because I was afraid using all 3 would be overpowering. My entire family including the pickiest little boy in the world scarfed this down. I will be making this again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
popo9807 January 29, 2013

It was good, but too thin for our taste, so I had to add more flour. And it was way too salty. That may have been my fault, I used Herbamare in place of celery salt, and I'm not 100% sure how different they are, since we never use celery salt :) We usually make ours with all milk, too, not water, so I used half milk, half water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homecookgirl December 18, 2011

DS helped out by making this for dinner tonite - it was really tasty. We were short on time so served over egg noodles instead of mashed potatoes. I think I would have preferred it over mashed potatoes and would have loved to have had more sauce, but overall, no complaints -- and nothing left over either! Side note: Next time, I may try using a low sodium broth instead of bouillon cube as it was a wee bit salty (something I'm trying to cut back on). At any rate, it was great. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud November 10, 2011
Hamburger Gravy