Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hamburger Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hamburger Gravy

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2003

      Very tasty and quickly prepared dish. I made the hamburger gravy and at the same time cooked some elbow macaroni. I drained the elbow macaroni and just stirred the gravy into it. I then served it with mixed vegetables. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      we enjoyed this very much I added 1/3 cup sour creme it is delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2003

      I loved this gravy, however I used skim milk instead of water. I also used a lot more milk and flour than the recipe called for, so I have a feeling what I made was not what Bangbang intended, but it was still fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2004

      I was skeptical because of the simplicity of the ingredients, but it was full of flavor! The celery salt is crucial, but if using broth instead of water (which I did), it should be reduced to compensate for the saltiness of broth (or the broth should be diluted). I also drained all but one tablespoon of the grease before I added the seasonings. Everyone (ages 2-36) loved this, so I will definitely be fixing it again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      This recipe was well worth fixing. I didn't have mashed potatoes to fix with it, so I substitued egg noodles instead. My family loved it! We added a side dish of mixed vegies one time, and another with homemade cream-style corn. I will cut back some on the celery salt next time I prepare it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      My whole family liked this. I was out of celery salt so I just used regular salt and only about 2 tsp. of it and it was still to salty. Next time I will cut salt back. I served this over pieces of toast and got my picky children to eat it as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2014

      Delicious!! Just made this with some left over hamburger meat. I made a couple patties, seasoned them then fried them up in a cast iron skillet all the time sprinkling my flour over them and making the gravy. Wow. Then put on some home made mashed potatoes. It was very filling and satisfying. Thank you so much for posting. Will definitely be making again. Oh P.s I did add some heavy cream to even out the flavor so not to salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      This was very good. It tastes very similar to the way my Mom always made it although it's different. The only thing I changed was using only 1t of the celery salt because I was afraid using all 3 would be overpowering. My entire family including the pickiest little boy in the world scarfed this down. I will be making this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      It was good, but too thin for our taste, so I had to add more flour. And it was way too salty. That may have been my fault, I used Herbamare in place of celery salt, and I'm not 100% sure how different they are, since we never use celery salt :) We usually make ours with all milk, too, not water, so I used half milk, half water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      DS helped out by making this for dinner tonite - it was really tasty. We were short on time so served over egg noodles instead of mashed potatoes. I think I would have preferred it over mashed potatoes and would have loved to have had more sauce, but overall, no complaints -- and nothing left over either! Side note: Next time, I may try using a low sodium broth instead of bouillon cube as it was a wee bit salty (something I'm trying to cut back on). At any rate, it was great. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Great recipe. I added some worchestershire, some Kitchen Bouquet, and a little milk. I also used minced onion because I didn't have onion powder. There's about 3 tablespoons left in the pan right now. I'm going to get it before the kids beat me to it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      I am 65 yrs. old. I had this in the cafeteria in Elementary School over mashed potatoes. Lunch was $0.25. It was my favorite lunch. I've tried to make it over the years and couldn't get the spices right, it was always bland......Well I am thrilled. It is exactly like I remember....sooo good. Full of flavor, easy and wonderful for all ages! Thanks so much for putting this out there!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      This is really good. I had planned to serve this over mashed potatoes, but got lazy at the last minute and used egg noodles. Will make this again. I might cut down on the celery salt a little bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      My husband loved this recipe. He wants me to make this often. He likes this with spaghetti noodles and I prefer it with mashed potatoes. Thankyou

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      This is a wonderful go to recipe. The taste and simplicity make it very kid-friendly and the adults love it. I keep ground beef that I have pre-browned in the freezer in 1 lb. portions so it is quick and easy to put together whatever amount I need. The recipe scales down very nicely. It is good served on mashed potatoes. rice or pasta. Thank you for posting this flavorful, easy and quick recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This is a great recipe! So easy to make. I omitted the celery salt and added green peppers and onion to ours it was delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      Very delish!! Quick and easy. Thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      What a great recipe! None of the spices jumped out and overpowered this dish. I used Swanson Beef Broth for the liquid and scaled back the serving size to 2. This is one of the few recipes I didn't have to tweak...a perfect comfort food, made just as written. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      Three thumbs up! My kids and I really enjoyed this. I only used 1 pound of ground beef and reduced the other ingredients accordingly. I used water instead of broth. Next time I'll add a tiny bit more celery salt ... and there definitely will be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      This was delicious. I prepared the recipe exactly and served over mashed potatoes and it turned out awesome. I'm sure it would also be great on pasta or rice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hamburger Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (264 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 541.9
     
    Calories from Fat 349
    64%
    Total Fat 38.8 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 15.4 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 156.4 mg
    52%
    Sodium 133.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 40.1 g
    80%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes