70 Reviews

Wowsers! I don't believe it. Two bites and I was back in 1953 at lunch in the cafeteria at Horace Mann Junior High, eating lunch and worrying about the math test I had to face fifth period. This is a real taker-backer! And it is one of the very few cafeteria recipes I actually liked. Thanks for submitting it.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren May 04, 2002

Bring's back memories; and it does taste just like the school's lunch! I always bought lunch on this menu day..........very easy to make as well, and economical.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook January 12, 2002

This stuff is absolutely delicious! DH smelled it cooking and asked what we were having...I told him another version of "Slop", something I make with ground beef, jarred gravy and egg noodles when I don't feel like cooking or time is limited. Man, Oh Man! This brings "Slop" to a whole 'nother level! I learned a trick from Zaar Chef Evelyn/Athens. When browning ground beef and you think it's done, let it go another few minutes. Then when you think that's done, let it go some more. This carmelizes the meat and most of the liquid evaporates. I used regular old Ground Chuck, carmelized the meat, was left with almost no fat at all so I sprinkled my flour (home ground Whole Wheat) right on top of the meat mixture to cook for a bit and get rid of the raw flour taste. Instead of boullion I used a few cubes of frozen Kittencal's Rich Homemade Beef Stock (Crock-Pot or Stove Top) and deglazed the pan. Added the soup and just shy of one full can of water. I prefer my beef gravy with lots of pepper so I kept grinding it until I got it where I wanted. What a Great little recipe! Thanks so much!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe June 12, 2010

take the dripings and add flour. let it brown add water and you will have a brown gravy. you can add mushrooms. Sometimes I add onion soup mix This is a blast from the past. Thank You

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda May 13, 2002

I didn't even bother reading all the reviews and I'm sure this has been brought up somewhere in some post. This was a staple at my home during childhood. It was a favorite breakfast food served over biscuits or toast. My dad was in the navy, so of course we called this SOS. Boullion nor the soup were ever used to make this, but as the last poster stated "caramalizing" the beef was the secret, then only flour and milk were used to thicken the sauce. Ahhh! Pepper! This was the essential ingredient to make it real. I'll try it with the soup though. That must bring a new dimension to an already nostagic favorite. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP June 14, 2010

Great comfort food. Received compliments all around.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex October 16, 2002

I wanted to add this is a great recipe for morning breakfast..Just like you are making sauage gravy..Use Hamburger instead..My grandma used to make it all the time..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha Petrie August 12, 2002

Quick and easy! My family loved this! Thank you for sharing!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mysonshine June 12, 2002

5 stars from this family because it tasted great and was easy for DH to make. We had this served over rice. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore May 23, 2015

Love the gravy reminds me of home great taste

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joseph V. March 25, 2015
Hamburger Gravy