10 Reviews

Good recipe. Very easy and tasty. I didn't think this tasted any different then any other hamburger gravy but was very good so I rated it with 4 stars. I didn't have soy sauce (we don't use it)but I had worchestershire sauce so I used that instead. We served it over rice and I'd like to try it over potatoes. We did have to add salt to taste. I think this would be good with chopped green pepper or even some mushrooms. Thanks for a good recipe we will have this often. Christine (internetnut)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut December 05, 2006

Was going to say that there is way too much water in this recipe, then re-read it. Ok, I didn't simmer long enough "til all water is gone". I did add 7 oz of macaroni and created a yummy, homemade version of hamburger helper. (just let simmer about 7 minutes with lid on) Did the original recipe with these changes: substituted soy sauce with a few splashes of Worchester. Stirred-in a tsp of minced garlic. Topped dish with salt and pepper. Finally, added a drizzle of crema (Mexican, thin sour cream) to individual servings. YUM.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iaclassic October 22, 2015

This is total comfort food for us. Recipe is very easy to throw together and very very good. I did forget to put the chow mein noodles on top of it which I will do in the future but it was very good without them. I made as directed with the exception of adding a clove of minced garlic to the mix. This will be made on a regular basis in this house. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Modmom50 October 22, 2009

My family loved this. I have made it a few times now, and the last time I added a can of chopped water chestnuts, doubled the recipe (so I guess I used 2 cans of chestnuts), and froze half. We recently ate the frozen batch and it was great. I will make this (and freeze it) again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rauenhorst June 03, 2008

This was pretty good. I did add a little bit of onion powder and garlic powder to give it a little bit more flavor. I served it over rice. It was easy to make I like hamburger gravy so I will be making this again. I think next time I will add some fresh garlic to it. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made for PAC '08.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof April 22, 2008

We thought this was ok, but I don't think it will be something I make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luveyduvey21 January 27, 2008

This was o.k..I followed the recipe as directed, but I did add only 1 pound of ground turkey. That might have had something to do with taste being off. I thought it was really salty, so I added brown sugar.That helped it get to an o.k rating. I don't think I will be making it again,but it was something different to try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princess O January 21, 2008

This was delicious! When my kids all like a recipe (I have 4 and a couple of them are pretty picky), I know I've got a keeper on my hands. They all liked this one! I did make two small additions (I can't leave a recipe alone). I added a little garlic powder and a couple tablespoons of brown sugar. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whinyard September 19, 2006

Very good and tasty, only thing I changed was I was concerned that this would be too salty for us, so used lite soy sauce Thank You Sandylee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat April 03, 2006
Hamburger Gravy