28 Reviews

Wonderful and cheap to make! Like other reviewers, I have had the best results by mixing all ingredients into the meat rather than coating the strips.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in OKC March 15, 2008

I have made this recipe 4 times now and we LOVE it. I cut the recipe in half to fill 4 trays. I've tried the teryaki topping but we like the ketchup,liquid smoke and worcesteshire sauce the best. I made the mistake of mixing the sauce into the meat and it turned out better, in my opinion, than when I brushed it on. I've made it twice that way and prefer it over brushing on the sauce. I gave some to my neighbor last night and she shared with company. They wanted the recipe and were stopping on their way out of town to buy a jerky gun to make it when they get home. Thanks for sharing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Marie August 22, 2007

Used all ingredients as stated, just halved recipe. The taste is FANTASTIC!!! I used hickory flaved smoke - our favorite. I did take two suggestions from other reviews though: 1) mixed the wet ingredients in with the meat as well. Significantly increased my drying time, but it made more sense to do it this way so that the taste was evenly distributed. 2) Rolled out the meat between two sheets of waxed paper. Worked great!!! Just need to roll it out in batches AND make sure the meat is all one thickness for even drying. The best texture was the 1/4" thickness. Thank you for this great tasting and convenient recipe!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lyssie71 January 01, 2008

OH MY GOSH! Never was a jerky fan but WOW! This one is a winner. Just got the new dehydrator and had to try it. I used 90/10 from BJ's wholesale club and this is the first jerky I'm actually able to eat since it's not so tough. Found that since I didn't have to focus so hard on tearing and chewing that I was able to enjoy the flavor. Looking forward to having convenient high protein snacks readily available. The second batch I made I added some cheddar cheese, jalapeno and cumino. Great stuff! Thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pclayton2 August 06, 2011

This is the first recipe we made when we got our new dehydrator and jerky gun. We love it. I did halve the recipe in case it didn't turn out, but next time I'll make the entire recipe. It was delicious. thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckygardens May 31, 2011

Mixed it all together, used jerky press worked good 4 me. Mixed with mixer.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seths January 02, 2011

This is absolutely THE BEST!!!!!I too mixed everything together and then used my jerky gun to make the strips . We prefer the catsup, liquid smoke,worcestershire virsion. Nothing else will do now! Everyone loved it. Had to pass the recipe around. Thanks Oster, for making me look SO good!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelley Marie October 29, 2008

I have been trying to make all types of jerky for years. I found this one and have made it a few times now and everyone loves it. I use lean ground turkey instead, its one dollar cheaper here a pound and little bit healthier. I did also mix all ingredients together instead of brushing it on. thanks so much for the recipe :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suffertheless September 13, 2008

This jerky recipe is the best one that i have come accross yet. i cut back on the salt a little bit, and omitted the red peppers. I can't seem to keep it in the house. I don't use a jerky gun tho. I roll it out between wax paper to about an 1/8 -1/4 " thick. It comes out perfect. I have tried other Jerky cures such as American Harvest and Eastman Jerky Cures. But my family much perfers this recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef ice princess January 29, 2008

We have only made this one time and took it with us for a snack for the family to eat while waiting for the Thanksgiving Feast to get done. Everyone loved it! We are making some tonight to take to family for the holidays. Wanted to make sure I got the good review on here for this stuff! Easy to make and VERY yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BBoop999 December 17, 2008
Hamburger Beef Jerky