Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hamburger Barley Stew (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hamburger Barley Stew (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2013

      I am not going to rate this being I made changes as I started the recipe as written - then thought as it cooked for more flavor to add 1 tsp of chipolte in adobe sauce and a tablespooon of tomato paste because I didn't like the color of the sauce, and did use ground turkey. My husband loved it and called it "hardy". I thought it was OK. Made a half recipe and yes makes at least 4 to 5 servings. Always better warmed as a leftover and looking foward to it. Made #26110 biscuits to serve with. Easy and good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      6qt crock. 2 cans beef broth 1.5c water to equal 5c liquid. 2 cans italian diced tomatoes. no potatoes. cooked overnight sans barley because i have quick-cook barley. added barley at very end. REALLY tasty! served with grilled cheese sandwiches.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      My 13 year old son ate 3 bowls of this and still begged for more! Definitely will make again. I made 1/2 the recipe and it made 8 bowls. I substituted an 8 oz can of tomato sauce for one of the cans of tomatoes. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      This soup had great flavour! After 5 hours on high, the carrots & potatoes were cooked; but still "crunchy". They didn't turn to mush which i like. I added about 1/2 cup frozen corn. I took the suggestion of others & added the barley 2 hours before serving & the soup turned out GREAT!!! Love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Excellent stew. I added some frozen peas, left out the potatoes and used a 1lb flank steak that had been beaten to death and then cut into cubes. Cooked on high 4 hours and it was done. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      What a wonderful soup! I made it in my 6 quart crockpot. I added a little extra garlic because we love it. And I omitted the salt because there was plenty of it in the beef bouillon. I served it with warm whole wheat dinner rolls. Thank you for posting this recipe, it's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      This was so good. On a cold winter day, sure hit the spot and so easy to make. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

    • on January 05, 2013

      Delicious and simple. Perfect with crusty bread on a cold day. Used 2 cans of beef broth plus 1.25 cups of water instead of boullion with water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Very filling! Just what was needed for a cold night with friends coming over. I made a couple different kinds of soup and everyone enjoyed this one, but it wasn't their favorite. I think I will make it again and try adding some of the tweeks mentioned by others- peas, red wine, tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      I very much enjoyed this. Used on 28oz can diced tomato (and added a small can of tomato paste to give it a bit more body.. also and added extra spices as my tomatoes weren't spiced. Rather than cut up carrots/onion/celery used just 2 cups of frozen spagetti mix (carrots, green pepper, celery and onion). Added 1/2 cup of red wine - might add about half that next time. Will definitely make again but will use beef broth rather than beef bullion and water.

      A great and very easy recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      I used 2 cans of beef broth and added about 3/4 c. water plus 2 beef bullioun cubes. I reduced the carrots to 1 1/2 c. and added about 2 cups chopped cabbage. Next time, I will probably add peas. This was very good. I can see it being even better with 1/2 c. red wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      This was very easy and inexpensive. I did add quite a bit of jalepeno salt to up the flavor though. I used beef broth instead of water/bouillon. Next time I might sub one can of diced tomatoes with a can of tomato sauce, just to make the sauce a bit thicker. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      I couldn't find BARLEY... my fantastic grocery store rarely lets me down! I used brown rice instead. It was just OK. Edible, sure! The pictures definitely look tastier than what I experienced this evening. It was hearty, filling, and warm... maybe I'll try it again with barley and will enjoy it more :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      This is comfort food at its finest, I did exactly as the recipe called for, except I used 3 cups of beef broth and the rest water. The barley gives it a nice flavor along with good vitamins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      This was very good, but had to cook it a lot longer on high in order for the veggies to be tender. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      WOW - this was GOOD!! I made exactly as followed except only used 2 cans of tomats since my family usually isn't a fan of them, and skipped the celery since I'm not a fan. Next time I may add some mushrooms, but otherwise this is AMAZING!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      Delicious! Very easy to to put together and easier to eat. This will be added to my regular rotation. Thanks for a very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      Wonderful soup! I used a carton (4 cups) of beef broth instead of the water & bouillon. Also added frozen peas as another reviewer mentioned. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      EXCELLENT and very filling/hearty. Thanks for sharing! My first time using Barley and I also picked up the quick cooking kind. Used 28oz tomatoes with 15oz sauce, less than a pound of chuck, and threw in 2 fresh cloves of garlic. Made it on the stovetop and added the barley the last 20 minutes. Alternated between med-high heat and simmering for an hour and a half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hamburger Barley Stew (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.9
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    15%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 28.2 mg
    9%
    Sodium 486.9 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tomatoes seasoned with basil garlic & oregano

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites