17 Reviews

No leftovers! Mike ate most of it himself. I made a few changes, nothing drastic tho. Rather than peas and carrots I used a can of mixed veggies since they were on sale, I also used fresh minced garlic and Italian bread crumbs. I think this would be good with any veggies you choose. I think I'll try different kinds as they go on sale. Also, I was not sure if I should prepare the mac & chz with milk and butter or not but decided to take another reviewer's advice and not add it. This was fine, I think the sour cream and soup is enough. I also used the low fat soup and sour cream and did not top with grated cheese. I topped with the breadcrumbs and placed it in the oven for about 30 - 40 min and then broiled just to brown the bread crumbs a bit more. Great easy meal with ingredients that I usually have on hand. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse April 18, 2006

I wasn't really impressed with this. The recipe isn't clear whether to make the mac and cheese with the butter and milk, or just cook the noodles and add the cheese packet and rest of the ingredients... The way it says to add the packet makes it sound like you don't use the milk and butter. This was a bit "gluey" after baking. Sorry, but I don't think I'll be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie July 29, 2011

Very simple, basic and inexpensive recipe that got great reviews at my house. My kids loved it. I didn't use the vegetables because one doesn't like peas oand the other doesn't like carrots. Very cheesy....which is always a winner in my house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovin2cook August 28, 2009

Very fast easy meal for nights you just do not want to cook. I enjoyed this very much. I did not use the veggies. I had a toss salad to go with it. Thank you & Hugs

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda May 11, 2009

Wonderful, inexpensive and quick, my kind of recipe. Changed a couple of things. Used ground turkey instead of beef. I left out the veggies because I already had some left over in the frige, and I also left out the bread crumbs. Turned out wonderful and will add to family favorite list! My big family thanks you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FaithfulCookInNC July 24, 2007

My husband and polished this off between the two of us. Instead of beef, I diced some leftover chicken. Instead of cream of mushroom soup, I used cream of chicken fat free. Also, I added a can of mushrooms with a sprinkling of pepper and poultry seasoning. This was delicious!! I put the casserole together early in the afternoon and baked it in the evening. we will definitely have this again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debleekay October 10, 2006

I made as posted except no peas (family preference). I personally found it bland, but my family liked it. Don't take it personally - I don't like Hamburger Helper either! It was really easy to make on a week night which has its benefits. And it is cheap to make with ingredients usually on hand, which is always good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsrexy April 05, 2006

This one will surprise you. Not only was it fast to make, my PICKY family got seconds. To save time since I didn't have grated carrots was to boil baby carrots w/the pasta and added beef bouillon, frozen peas instead of canned and the cooking time at the end was in microwave, which shortened time to the table and avoided me having to turn on the oven. Thanks for a uniquely different recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelli January 21, 2006

Let me start off by saying that instead of the cream of mushroom soup, I used cheese soup and I left out the carrots (personal preference). This was one delicious and filling meal. It was a little bland for me, but picky DBF loved it! Thank you for the tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerysummersun December 18, 2005
Hamburger and Kd Casserole