Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hamburg Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hamburg Gravy

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2010

      Very good! I made this for lunch for DH, his dad and I and it was a hit just like long ago. I did add some onions and garlic along with salt and pepper and served it over mashed potatoes. Along side was a nice green salad. Thank you for the memories and I definately will make again. Made for Zaar Alphabet Soup Tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Love it! A nice simple go-to meal, I have made it multiple times and my kids love it.. thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Yummy! My husband and I both loved this! I made it with corn instead of peas because I didn't have any.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      Sometimes the simplest ones are the best! I've had this and similar ones growing up. Stretches a dollar and open to all sorts of changes. I like it on egg noodles. Great for using up leftover veggies, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      This is very good! I didn't actually add any peas because I didn't have them, but did saute some onions in some butter then added the meat once they were caramelized... I also grew up eating this over mashed potatoes! YUMMY

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      This was a regular at our house when I was little...we never had a lot of money, so my mom would make this (sometimes she'd add onions, garlic & peas & carrots) & it was a great comfort food. It's also really tasty, filling & perfect w/ mashed potatoes, or over bread. Now when I make it for my kids it's always devoured, too. Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      I make this probably twice a month. But on the weekends I make it using sausage .. and not adding any veggies. Company always loves my sausage gravy. DON"T tell how easy it really is to make. I also add lots of pepper to ours. Thank you for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      this was really very good. the only reason i'm giving it a four, is because i added some onion flakes,seasoning salt and some pepper.i always add these to every dish with hamburger. i had some leftover veggies i threw in while it was thickening up. served it with mashed potatoes.this will be made again.thank you for posting.as soon as i can i will post a picture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      My dad cooked this for me for breakfast--browned the beef, and added the flour and milk, then served it over toast. It's still one of my favorite breakfast foods! He still makes it for me every time we go to visit. My husband still hasn't decided whether or not he likes it! But that's ok...I'll take his share!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      No one like this?? I came from a large family and everyone had to take turns cooking. My sister would make this and everyone was sure to come running! You can make this stretch a long way. I haven't thought about this in years. I called her and asked her what her secret was. She said she used whatever we had on hand really but it turned out best if she used hamburger (or venison burger), onion soup mix, cream of "something" soup, and milk. Sometimes we didn't have potatoes so we poured it over homemade bread which we always had. Yummy!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      My Mom made this for us when we were kids, and we loved it! I used to make it for my family when they weere home. I added onions to the dish. My MIL made this dish for her family, and called it Hamburg gravy also. Brings back childhood memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      My mom made this while we were growing up and I still make it for my husband! We love it. I do add chopped onion to the hamburger when browning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      Hey gal, what do you mean not like it!. I love it. Truthfully, I've been making this for years and I'm an ole' broad. I also add other veggies to stretch it and make a complete meal. Thanks for posting it. It really is GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hamburg Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.8
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    52%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 620.3 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites