40 Reviews

I haven't tried this exact recipe, but I'm rating anyway because this is almost exactly what I do to my ham every christmas and the taste is phenomenal! What I usually do is score the ham and stud it with whole cloves rather than add ground cloves to the glaze. I really like the way it looks. I've never added mustard or orange zest, but I know that will just put it over the top!! Thanks so much for posting this. Something that I do is score the ham and prepare the glaze a day ahead of time. I let the ham marinate with the glaze and whole cloves on it for an entire day...you wouldn't believe how good it comes out! Before I bake it, I add pineapple rings on the outside with toothpicks. I cover it with aluminum foil and baste it often. It takes a little longer to cook, but it's so worth it!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fyvettew December 15, 2009

I made this on Thanksgiving for my FIL who isn't a big fan of turkey. He WAS a big fan of this ham though! I made it with Splenda brown sugar, reduced sugar lite OJ, spicey mustard, and dried zest because that it what I had on hand. I had an uncooked ham. I baked my usual way and just brushed on the glaze apx. every ten minutes during the last 30-40 minutes of cooking.I will probably make it the same way tonight for our holiday bunco party. Can't wait to hear the rave reviews.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom December 11, 2010

This turned out wicked awesome! not too shabby for my first ham! looked like ur pic too... Thanks a bunch! (i used fresh pineapple instead or just juice..it was hard not to eat it before it made it into the sauce tho lol)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debstarr December 29, 2010

I am not going to rate this as I didn't have all the ingredients! I missed out on the pineapple juice, zest and cloves. What I did do was cut the recipe in half .... had no pineapple juice, so used all orange juice...had only whole cloves, so chopped them up in my mini chopper. What turned out was incredibly tasty! I would do this one again!!! Thanks for the inspiration!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl April 22, 2014

This is what my friend used with a whole pig and he wraped it in wet cloth and burried it in coal&hot rocks for a day. yeah it took a little more ingredient's,but WOW MMMMMM.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scott777 January 14, 2011

This was a wonderful glaze. It had a great combination of flavors. It was very easy to put together also. Thanks for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn January 10, 2011

I tried this as an alternative to the "usual" glaze on our Easter ham, and everyone loved it! This will become our new "usual" glaze. YUMMY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weims April 05, 2010

My husband lives for Thanksgiving because, rather than the traditional turkey, I make a ham with this very glaze. He tells everyone about 'rK's ham'; we made it last year for Christmas at his parents' and his younger siblings asked when I'd make it again for them. For a little extra, I still do the traditional pineapple rings with cherries in the centers toothpicked on, but with this glaze it is just amazing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
relientKitten November 27, 2009

I used this on a ham for Easter (sorry that I didn't rate this sooner). I didn't get to try it, but everyone enjoyed it and the ham disappeared. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy August 12, 2007

This glaze was a hit with my extended family at Christmas. The orange zest added the pizzaz! I used juice from canned pinapple chunks and then put the chunks in the glaze during the last 10-15 minutes of baking and served them with the ham. I will use this recipe from now on when I bake a ham.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JKCookin April 28, 2007
Ham With Pineapple-Orange Dijon Glaze