Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ham Stock Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham Stock

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2010

      This is really great stuff. I used this recipe as a base - I'm not sure how large my ham bone was, but it was pretty good sized and I had quite a bit of meat leftover on it. I tossed it in my dutch oven, rough chopped an onion, 2 carrots, and 4 pieces of celery (it was pretty small), added a few peppercorns, bay leaves, parsley, and water to cover. I brought to a boil, reduced to a simmer, and let it cook for probably 2 hours, loosely covered. I strained it out and picked the meat off the bone, and both the meat and the stock taste really incredible. It's cooling now, then I'll skim off the fat, and freeze for future recipes. I'll end up with about 6 c. of stock, I think. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      I also make my own ham broth. Only I just simmer water and ham bone for two to three hours, then refrigerate and skim the fat off. I just wanted to add that ham broth makes the best gravy in the world for biscuits and gravy! For all you gravy makers out there this tip is for you! Use bacon grease to saute flour in. Then mix half milk and half ham broth for the liquid. Add salt and lots of black pepper. I usually use powdered milk and make it stronger than called for. Add more or less flour, or liquid, as needed until desired consistancy. Hope this helps someone...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      Had a hambone in the freezer leftover from Christmas and chose this recipe to use it up. So glad I did. Since I was taking it directly from the freezer, I did make a couple of changes. I added a little more water so as to cover the bone and I simmered it for a full 2 hours to get all the goodness out plus all the meat off the bone. I then stained and put in the fridge for about 1 hour, there was very little fat to skim. It worked out exceptionally well and tasted great in the same recipe LonghornMama used #47924. Jellyqueen, this is a keeper and Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2005

      A great way to use that hambone! Produces a basic stock for immediate use or freezing. Used some in 1-Hour Ham and Bean Soup #47924 and froze what was left. I did add a bit more water to cover the hambone. Chilling in a bowl in the fridge overnight makes skimming fat very easy. Thanks, Jellyqueen, for a great one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      Delicous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

    • on March 28, 2011

      My first time making ham stock - this was a breeze. I had a lot of bones, so ended up just filling the stock pot until the bones were covered and let it simmer for a good 4-5 hours, only adding water once before straining and cooling. Excellent flavor - I can see using this for jambalaya or red beans & rice, but tonight we used it for #150863 (instead of chicken broth). Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Made this up last night so I can make soup with it today. Nice simple stock. Will freeze any leftovers, and maybe try using it for gravy as JanieB suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      Easy & tasty stock. I added a couple other vegys & used fresh/frozen parsley. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This is a fantastic ham broth! I did add some garlic to the broth while simmering. My bone was quite large so I did simmer it for a little over an hour. I strained it and sat it in the fridge overnight, where I skimmed the fat off before making my Fathers favorite potato soup. It added such wonderful flavor I will make this recipe from now on for my ham bones. It was perfect, not at all salty as I feared it would be. My Dad is one happt camper and my house smelled fantastic while it was simmering!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      Turned out perfect for my ham and potato soup!! This was just what I was looking for. I started with more water so I could cover my ham bone. I also simmered it for a longer time period. I put it in the fridge, covered, overnight and then skimmed it. We got quite a bit off fat off of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stocks Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham Stock

    Serving Size: 1 (2476 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1451.9
     
    Calories from Fat 472
    32%
    Total Fat 52.5 g
    80%
    Saturated Fat 17.6 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 472.5 mg
    157%
    Sodium 13997.7 mg
    583%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 12.7 g
    50%
    Protein 206.3 g
    412%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes