12 Reviews

Thanks for this recipe. I waited to add the topping/sauce until some of the water cooked off my ham steak. Mine gave off a lot of water, so I'm glad I waited. I used only 1 tbsp of mustard not sure how it would go over with my 7-yr old. I think next time I'll use even less, possibly none. Otherwise, I really liked the apples and pork together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marjorie D. January 10, 2011

I used spicy brown mustard, otherwise followed the recipe as instructed. My family loved this recipe (including my 4 year old daughter who loathes mustard, she didn't even notice ;) The ham was very tender for such a quick, easy & tasty preparation. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau March 18, 2010

Oh, my! This was a great recipe enjoyed by all. I didn't have a grainy mustard, just used dijon and it was still great. I am definitely going to try it with a grainy mustard. It was fast and perfect for a weeknight. It will be a go-to meal for sure. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SteelerSue February 15, 2010

Wow! This may be my fav from recipezaar so far. I had very tart apples, so I used a tad more brown sugar and grainy mustard. I also chopped the apples into pretty big chunks. SO GOOD! My whole family loved it including the picky 4 year old. By the way...it took me about 20 minutes to put it on the table...such a quick dish! I will be pulling this one out often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyR October 15, 2009

Yum!! This is a 5++ stars for me. We have taken a simple last minute ham steak and turned it into 'fit for company'. It is absolutely delicious, easy and quick. I did take heed to the reviews and only used 1 tblsp. of mustard (having a non-mustard eating husband). I know that I would have enjoyed a bit more mustard but it was sensational as it was. We will be having this many more times and thank you so much for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV February 18, 2009

This was very easy and I personally liked it. My family on the other hand..too much mustard for them. Next time I would reduce that ingredient in half or switch to a milder mustard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SMH August 09, 2008

This was just lovely. We had far too many apples on our tree this year. This was a great way to use them up. The tart apples mixed with the mustard tastes fantastic! i preferred this to the standard glazes for hams. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pink Kitchenaid Lover July 14, 2008

This was a nice change for ham steaks. Thank you for the recipe. This was delicous

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannah Shaver October 19, 2006

No problem with this great flavor! I used European whole grain mustard. & cut way back on the sugar. In fact I used brown sugar substitute. I chopped rathr than slice the apples. NurseDi this recipe was enjoyed and will be enjoyed again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy February 24, 2006
Ham Steak and Brown Sugar Apples