Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ham Salad for Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham Salad for Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2003

      Very good taste. The flavor was exactly what I was looking for. The texture just didn't do it for me though. I did reduce the mayonnaise a bit, I made a half recipe and used about 1/3 cup and it was just enough. The problem I had was even though I diced the ham quite small, the mixture didn't hold together well, and made eating the sandwich a bit messy. I will definitely make again. I'm thinking of just tossing everything in the food processor and pulsing a few times to see if that improves the texture. Thanks Inez for a great start!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2002

      I specially liked this because it was not swimming in mayonnaise. It does need to chill so that the minced onion softens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      This was wonderful, my picky non sandwhich eating daughter had it in her lunch today and loved it!!! Hubby will get it in his lunch tomorrow and I am sure he will be surprised! Many Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      Tasty sandwich spread, I made it for sandwiches we took on a picnic. I used some finely chopped red onion in place of the minced kind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2003

      This is a delicious sandwich spread, but the consistancy is a bit 'soupy'. I will definitely make this again, but will try just one cup of mayo to see if that dries it out to the texture I most prefer.There's certainly nothing lacking in flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      I made a much scaled down version of this recipe and didn't measure anything. The ingredients blended together very well and I will not hesitate to make this again. I likely will never get the same consistency but I'm sure the taste will be there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      I am giving this five stars because it is so retro. Took me right back to the 50s when my Mom often made something like this, and that's just what I was looking for. I used to help grind the ham (sometimes bologna) in the good old table-top hand-cranked grinder. Now I use my good old food processor. This is salty, but tastes good. It makes a good sandwich by itself, but today I enjoyed the last of it by laying sliced mozzarella cheese on half a small baguette, then piling ham salad on top. This made good work lunches all week. Thank you, MizzNezz, for sharing a fond food memory from the past.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      I ground my ham and added about 1/4 tsp of celery seeds, as a personal prefence, It tasted every bit as good without them. I loved the extra flavor the worcestershire sauce added. We will definitely be keeping this recipe and using it often. Since the ham I used was ground we were also able to use this as a cracker spread without pieces of ham falling off the crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      I scaled this down to 3 servings since I was making a variety of sandwiches for my BF for lunch today. I don't think I have ever eaten ham salad before but the picture Parsley posted really peaked my interest. I thought it was just a little watery, but that could be easily fixed by reducing the mayo just a tad. I really liked the tang of the onions with the sweet relish. My BF didn't really care for it, but I thought it was a different take on just a plain ham sandwich. I got the deli to slice my ham about 1/4" thick so it was very easy for me to dice it into little pieces without having to pull out my mini processor to chop the ham... plus I hate extra dishes to wash!!! Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      This ham salad is better than any deli purchased I have had to date. In fact, I doubt I purchase ham salad again now that I have this recipe. A nice blend of flavor, easy to make. The worchestershire sauce is the secret ingredient that makes this such a perfect recipe. I opted to use the food grinder attachment to my mixer for the ham as opposed to dicing the ham or using my food processor. I also used dill relish as others had stated due to personal preference. I wisked 1/2 cup of the mayo with the worchestershire sauce and used that first then mixed in small amounts of mayo at a time to reach my desired consistency. I found this best if made the night before to allow the flavors to mellow. I took this to work along with a variety of breads. A majority voted this ham salad on Hearty Rye a wonderful combination. Thanks for sharing MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      All I can say is I made MizzNezz's, and I made Paula Deen's, and MIzzNezz's was better! (sorry Paula).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      delicious flavor... make sure ham is patted dry or water from it makes mayo mixture too thin. Also start with only half the mayo asked for and add more if needed. will make again! I used dill relish as that is our preference. thankyou

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2004

      This recipe makes quit a large amount. Not something I would make just for a family of 4. However it was great for a pot luck lunch. I also just used enough mayo to moisten. I enjoyed it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      My family loved this! We used leftover ham and I added some chopped apple and celery. We ate it more as a salad so, rather than running it through a food processor we left the chunks pretty large. To keep it healthy, we ate it in wraps with some lettuce. It was a great change for leftover ham, thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Very good! Ground the ham in the food proccesser, used hot dog relish instead of sweet relish and added one large stalk of celery, minced. Other than that just as written. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      Very Yum! Am Making some black bread tonight for these sandwiches with lettuce & tomato over the weekend. I ground the ham (leftover from Easter) in a chopper & used an additional 1/4 cup of dill relish as well. This stuff is incedibly tasty eaten off the spoon but will be better as sandwiches tpmorrow!! Thankyou, MizzNezz, for a most delicious recipe I will be using often after cooking big hams!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      My husband and step-son love ham salad sandwiches. I halved the recipe with great result. A well-balanced blend of ingredients that tasted super together. I liked the little zing from the Worcestershire sauce. As is my usual, I didn't measure the mayo, just added until it was the right consistency for our tastes--ended up using about 1/2 cup. The guys were both happy with it too. Perfect for lunch or an after-school snack. Thanks Inez.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2004

      I don't know how helpful this review will be, but since I made it, I feel I should review it. I used all the ingredients stated, but I didn't measure anything. I used enough mayo to moisten enough ham for 1 sandwich. I added a couple tsps. relish, a sprinkle of onion and a sprinkle of pepper. I only like a very small amount of pepper. I used 1/4 tsp. Worcestershire sauce. I also added a romaine lettuce leaf to my sandwich-I like the crunch. I made this sandwich because I was intrigued by the Worcestershire sauce. This sandwich is absolutely wonderful! Perfect flavour! I'll never make a ham sandwich without Worcestershire sauce! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2013

      My husband used this recipe for some of our leftover Thanksgiving spiral sliced ham. I've never been a fan of ham salad, (it's a texture thing) but my husband likes it and wanted to make some. I looked for and found this recipe and he made it as written minus the onions as we were out. He used onion powder instead. Last night he told me to review this recipe and to say that "he loves it" and "will be making it again"! Thanks MizzNezz! You made my husband's day. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2013

      My daughter and I are eating this for lunch today. I admit, I didn't measure a thing and ground the ham a bit in the processor. We also prefer dill relish instead of sweet. Pretty tasty on RItz crackers! Sending it off in the school lunch bag tomorrow! Thank you MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham Salad for Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 318.5
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    61%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 71.5 mg
    23%
    Sodium 360.2 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 18.6 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites