Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ham Quiche Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham Quiche

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2009

      Simply fantastic.... a little note: As mentioned before, this does take a little longer then the stated time to solidify....I left it in for a whole 20mins more then called for time. But well worth the wait, it was delicious and my three young kids went back for seconds (rare!) and raved about how mom was the "best cook ever" :o) I didn't let them know it was a Zaar recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • This was wonderful. Very creamy. Very rich. I added a small jar of drained mushrooms, and as another reviewer had suggested, I only used 2 cups of Half and Half. I also sprinkled paprika on top before baking. I had to add 20 minutes to the final cooking time. I will definitely make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      It was delicious! It took more like 45 min. to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      This tasted great, but the timing is way off. I had to cook this for about an hour. Also, it never quite set up all the way. I think cutting the liquid down to 2 cups would be perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2006

      Just got this out of the oven and it smells divine. I cut back the half&half to 2 cups because after I'd opened the 3 eggs I noticed another with a crack on the shell so threw that in also. Don't know if it was the extra egg or not, but it took just about an hour before the knife came out clean.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2003

      Hi Darlene. Actually I made two of these quiches for a brunch I had. They were gobbled up before I knew what happened. I also loved the color that the red bell peppers gave to the dish. I served your quiches along with a big bowl of fresh fruit and pitchers of Mimosas. I am so glad I found this recipe. Easy to prepare, pretty to look at, and oh so tasty. Thanks again, you have such great recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      Delicious quiche! I did have to make a couple of subs to use what I had on hand. I didn't have half-and-half, only about 2/3 cup heavy cream and plenty of 1% milk, so I used the cream and made up the difference with milk. Since I used so much 1% milk, I know it probably wasn't as rich as the original recipe, but at least I saved a few calories and fat grams. :) I also didn't have Swiss cheese on hand, but had a big block of Cabot's Vintage Choice Extra Sharp Cheddar that was begging to be used, so I went with it. We loved the flavor it gave the quiche. Rather than mixing the red pepper strips in, I laid them around the top to add a little visual interest. I think next time I would reduce the liquid to about 2 cups, but that may be just because I subbed so much reduced-fat milk and it didn't set up quite as firmly as I would have liked. I would also prebake the pie crust a bit, then just spread the ham mixture over it, then pour the egg mixture over (I just find that easier). We loved it, though, and it is a tasty way to use leftover ham. Thanks for posting the recipe, Darlene!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      This recipe was the answer to our leftover Honey Baked Ham we served for Christmas. Very easy and quite delicious! Perfect served with my Spinach Salad and crispy French rolls. Everyone enjoyed their meal and has asked that this quiche be served again! Thanks Darlene!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      I changed up the recipe to what I had on hand. I subbed diced cherry tomatoes for the bell pepper and Manchego cheese for the Swiss. I supplemented the half and half with skim milk but only used 2 cups which was still too much because it spilled over the pie crust. I prebaked the frozen pie crust for 5 minutes then added the filling and topped with the tomatoes. I baked at 425º for 10 minutes, then while reading the reviews decided to up the temp from 325º to 375º. It still needed an additional 15 minutes for a total of 45 minutes. I then let it rest for 15 minutes - perfect. Nice and light texture and very interesting flavor with the Manchego.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      This is a nice start, but there were some problems with this as it is written. I made this exactly as posted and found there was way too much filling for a 9-inch pie crust (even though I used a deep dish one). It also needed a lot more time to cook than indicated - at least 15 more minutes. Finally, I was disappointed with the flavor and realized that it really needs some seasoning (salt and pepper to begin with). I think if it had cheddar cheese it might be more flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      This is a very good starter recipe. I used pre-made crust, because I am horrible at making crust. I did not use green pepper, only because DH hates it. This took about an hour total cooking time. I loved the creaminess of the swiss with the eggs. It was a hit for my Christmas morning breakfast with Eggnog French Toast Casserole (my own recipe, not yet up here). 4 stars, only because the cooking time was way off. Delicious recipe, especially considering that it was my very first quiche! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      Great Christmas breakfast - or anytime! This was easy to put together and a nice entree with fresh fruit. I used 2 cups of half and half following others suggestions and had to cook it 15 minutes longer than the recipe.
      The bottom of the crust was nice and crisp and my guests loved it.
      Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      Everyone thought it was tasty...BUT I also agree that the timing was way off. I even cooked it extra 20 minutes and I could of cooked even longer. I also cut back on the cream and I used only 2 cups, and I could of cut back even more. If your using a 9 in frozen pie shell it's too much and it will spill over. I think I would only use one cup of cream if I'm using a frozen pie shell again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham Quiche

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 452.9
     
    Calories from Fat 289
    63%
    Total Fat 32.1 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 14.6 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 165.5 mg
    55%
    Sodium 279.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 19.0 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes