13 Reviews

Simply fantastic.... a little note: As mentioned before, this does take a little longer then the stated time to solidify....I left it in for a whole 20mins more then called for time. But well worth the wait, it was delicious and my three young kids went back for seconds (rare!) and raved about how mom was the "best cook ever" :o) I didn't let them know it was a Zaar recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a little of this and that October 12, 2009

This was wonderful. Very creamy. Very rich. I added a small jar of drained mushrooms, and as another reviewer had suggested, I only used 2 cups of Half and Half. I also sprinkled paprika on top before baking. I had to add 20 minutes to the final cooking time. I will definitely make this again and again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard's Personal Chef and Wife May 30, 2009

It was delicious! It took more like 45 min. to bake.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimsdream April 21, 2009

This tasted great, but the timing is way off. I had to cook this for about an hour. Also, it never quite set up all the way. I think cutting the liquid down to 2 cups would be perfect.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GourmetGradStudent March 01, 2009

Just got this out of the oven and it smells divine. I cut back the half&half to 2 cups because after I'd opened the 3 eggs I noticed another with a crack on the shell so threw that in also. Don't know if it was the extra egg or not, but it took just about an hour before the knife came out clean.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SooZee May 26, 2006

Hi Darlene. Actually I made two of these quiches for a brunch I had. They were gobbled up before I knew what happened. I also loved the color that the red bell peppers gave to the dish. I served your quiches along with a big bowl of fresh fruit and pitchers of Mimosas. I am so glad I found this recipe. Easy to prepare, pretty to look at, and oh so tasty. Thanks again, you have such great recipes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot September 28, 2003

Delicious quiche! I did have to make a couple of subs to use what I had on hand. I didn't have half-and-half, only about 2/3 cup heavy cream and plenty of 1% milk, so I used the cream and made up the difference with milk. Since I used so much 1% milk, I know it probably wasn't as rich as the original recipe, but at least I saved a few calories and fat grams. :) I also didn't have Swiss cheese on hand, but had a big block of Cabot's Vintage Choice Extra Sharp Cheddar that was begging to be used, so I went with it. We loved the flavor it gave the quiche. Rather than mixing the red pepper strips in, I laid them around the top to add a little visual interest. I think next time I would reduce the liquid to about 2 cups, but that may be just because I subbed so much reduced-fat milk and it didn't set up quite as firmly as I would have liked. I would also prebake the pie crust a bit, then just spread the ham mixture over it, then pour the egg mixture over (I just find that easier). We loved it, though, and it is a tasty way to use leftover ham. Thanks for posting the recipe, Darlene!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ January 08, 2007

This recipe was the answer to our leftover Honey Baked Ham we served for Christmas. Very easy and quite delicious! Perfect served with my Spinach Salad and crispy French rolls. Everyone enjoyed their meal and has asked that this quiche be served again! Thanks Darlene!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev January 02, 2004

I changed up the recipe to what I had on hand. I subbed diced cherry tomatoes for the bell pepper and Manchego cheese for the Swiss. I supplemented the half and half with skim milk but only used 2 cups which was still too much because it spilled over the pie crust. I prebaked the frozen pie crust for 5 minutes then added the filling and topped with the tomatoes. I baked at 425º for 10 minutes, then while reading the reviews decided to up the temp from 325º to 375º. It still needed an additional 15 minutes for a total of 45 minutes. I then let it rest for 15 minutes - perfect. Nice and light texture and very interesting flavor with the Manchego.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenfar July 13, 2013

This is a nice start, but there were some problems with this as it is written. I made this exactly as posted and found there was way too much filling for a 9-inch pie crust (even though I used a deep dish one). It also needed a lot more time to cook than indicated - at least 15 more minutes. Finally, I was disappointed with the flavor and realized that it really needs some seasoning (salt and pepper to begin with). I think if it had cheddar cheese it might be more flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! January 18, 2012
Ham Quiche