15 Reviews

These were tasty, easy and different. Only complaint was the inconsistent marshmallow amounts based on size. I only had mini and had exactly 4 cups which was appx 1/2 pkg. This would equal 5 oz. No way was it enough to cover 6 cups of krispies. I used 5 cups of krispies and wished I had only used 4 cups as they were a little crumbly. If using minis, I would use the whole pkg (10 oz) also. Based on previous reviews, I also reduced the coffee to 2 Tbls then drizzled with white chocolate. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta February 21, 2014

I agree...bit too much coffee but its not too much that no one will eat them. My daughter loves coffee anything. I didnt make a drizzle I melted about 3/4 cup of chocolate chips and smeared it all over the top. Its a nice adultish version of rice krispie treats...next time I think I will cut the coffee down to 2 tbsps and see how that goes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn October 06, 2009

This was way too much coffee for me - don't know if it's the instant coffee I used or if it's the fact that I made this in the microwave. Waited the next day to see if it would be less powerful - still too much for me!! Like the idea though of adding coffee - will try again with a little less and maybe will drizzle some chocolate too!! TFS! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie October 05, 2009

If you really like coffee, you will love these. I love the rich coffee flavor and even with the chocolate drizzled on top (I used semi-sweet) they weren't too sweet like regular rice krispie treats. Only down fall to that is that I may eat the whole pan. I have got to say these are the best rice krispie treats I've ever had. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imdrabbit June 05, 2009

All i can say is i added some milk chox chips to the bars and had to fight the kids to get a bar for me!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes February 17, 2009

Very good and easy. Followed recipe exactly. Got raves at christmas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
recipesrmypassion January 03, 2009

These were yummy, and definitely are for coffee lovers! I used the full amount of coffee, which is good for me (I like it strong), but it could be too strong for some people. I did not follow another reviewer's suggestion of toasting the cereal first, but I think that would be a great enhancement. I pressed about a tablespoon of chocolate chips into these while they were still warm (the lazier, lower fat way, but it still gave it a little chocolate flavor!). The only issue I really had with these is that they were a little stickier than they should be. It might be because I used the weight of the marshmallows (ounces), not the measure (cups). I believe the two listed in the ingredients are not equivalent. I am guessing that 16 ounces of very light marshmallows is more like 4 cups than 2 -- not sure what previous reviewers used. Thanks again Kiwidutch for this yummy treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito March 15, 2008

This is very good. I love coffee and this is the perfect treat for me. I used espresso powder. Thanks Kiwi :) Made for Please Review My Recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette February 29, 2008

Thanks for this coffee related recipe. And, who would have thought RiceKrispies and coffee went together. When I seen this posted, I knew I had to try. I used the full 3 T. of instant coffee granules, but added just a touch more marshmellows. Also, a 1/2 t. of vanilla and 1/2 t. of peanutbutter syrup. Excellent. Thanks Kiwi~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB February 22, 2008

I like all things coffee and these were no exception! Would suggest toasting the Rice Krispies first in the oven, since that makes the final product really crunchy. For plain bars I'd reduce the coffee (mine is a strong brand) to 2T; as is I'd top with a white chocolate drizzle to mellow them out a bit. Made a half recipe and ate the whole thing for breakfast and lunch. My eyes were definitely wide open today! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 29, 2007
Ham on the Street Coffee Rice Krispies Bars, Simple and Yummy!