34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks for the recipe! I've been trying to find ways to use the ham that I have frozen from Christmas. This was easy and yummy. My two little girls really liked it too. Used cream of chicken soup and omitted the mushrooms since we don't care for them. The tabasco sauce was a great touch!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Musical Joy February 16, 2002

Easy to make with good flavor.I added about half a pound of melted velvetta so the kids would eat it better the second time I made it.Gave it a extra kick that pushed it into a company's coming for dinner dish.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mona December 28, 2001

Yummy! I added garlic and used fresh mushrooms. Instead of tobasco, I used Cholula Chipotle Hot Sauce because I prefer it to tobasco. A great, Quick way to reuse ham. The whole family liked it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peppermint Wind February 04, 2013

This is a keeper! I didn't have celery in the house when I made it but it was still good. I followed others' advice and added a little garlic and increased the amount of cheese. Thanks for the new recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Croft Girl August 29, 2007

We were VERY impressed with this recipe. I have been on a search for a good ham and noodle casserole for years and this truly fit the bill. The spices are amazing. I sauteed in white wine instead of oil and used 8 oz fresh mushrooms, a couple cloves of fresh garlic and threw in some thawed frozen spinach. It was excellent, I'll be making this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly-Mom2Girls January 03, 2006

Thanks for the BEST ham and noodle casserole I have found! I used the cream of chicken soup option, as I thought it would yield the best flavor and I wasn't disappointed. I substituted 6 ounces of fresh crimini brown mushrooms, as that is what I had on hand and doubled the amount of butterred breadcrumbs. To keep the salt content down, I subbed water for the broth. The thyme, marjoram, Worcestershire, and hot sauce enhanced the yummy flavors without overpowering anything.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BriarCraft January 28, 2014

This is really good and so easy to prepare. My family devoured this as it was a bit different then the usual casseroles I make. I just simply served this with some bread and butter and a side of greens. Thank you for sharing with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 27, 2013

I was a bit apprehensive when I made this - but had a bunch of left over ham and needed dinner...so off I went. This is what I did. Used 1 can cream of celery soup, more than 1/2 C chicken stock - maybe 2/3 C based on other reviews. Softened celery (4 - 5 sm ribs) and 1 small onion diced in 2TBL butter. Used about 5 oz of low fat velveeta - cut up. About 8 oz egg noodles as directed...added a couple of shakes of worcestershire and a couple of shakes of hot sauce and the thyme and the marjoram. Here's the kicker. I had a huge bunch of asparagus and added that raw (washed and trimmed) to the noodles and mixed with the rest and put it into the oven. I was PLEASANTLY surprised. Really liked this. The asparagus was perfectly cooked, the cheese was creamy with the chicken stock and the soup. If I have leftover ham - THIS is the recipe I'll make. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 April 02, 2013

Made a double batch of this delicious stuff and Oh, My! What a huge batch it was. Didn't have time to bake it in the oven, so opted to make everything stove top and it still came out delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakermarsha November 24, 2012

What a delightful recipe! I wanted to use up the rest of a ham that I had made and this fit the bill. I was unsure about Worcestershire sauce but followed the spices (including the Worcestershire) as directed except for adding in a clove of garlic that I minced in with the onion. Used the Cream of chicken version. At first taste hubby and I were not sure if we liked it, but after several bites we changed our minds. Hubby even took it for lunch the following day. That is high praise from him. Thanks Sherri for providing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gadgetsmidnight July 10, 2012
Ham & Noodle Casserole