Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ham N' Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham N' Beans

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2009

      I thought this recipe was good but was way too oniony and garlicy than i wanted it to be. In the end i ended up adding some brown sugar to cut the onion and garlic. Next time (if i use this recipe again!) i will use about half as much onion and garlic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      This was excellent. I will be adding it tomy OAMC rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Good, simple and easy!!!! ( I even used a left over ham from thanksgiving!!!) I put a little into a blender to thicken it up a little ( just cause thats what I am used to when eating ham n beans) served with cornbread! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Best recipe for ham and beans I have ever tasted. Very simple to make. Great comfort food. I have to go bake more cornbread to sop up the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      This is hands-down the BEST ham n' bean recipe that I have ever eaten. I made this for a soup potluck at church and quadrupled the recipe. There wasn't a drop left and I had many people asking for the recipe. Very flavorful...simply delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Excellent Ham N' Beans! The best recipe I've ever tried (I omitted the bacon). Debbie L - Pekin, IL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      I used pinto beans instead of great northern beans, omitted the bacon and used 2 cups chicken broth and 4 cups water. I have made this a few times now and I think it is great. I pair it with sweet cornbread recipe also found on recipezaar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Being life-long Northerners, my husband and I had never had anything like this before, and we both really enjoyed it. I will definitely make this again! I used fresh parsley, pinto beans (all I had in the house), and low-sodium chicken soup base in water instead of the cans of broth. The beans were a little overcooked after 8 hours, but that could be because pintos are a bit smaller.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      This was great! I didnt use the low sodium but I will next time for sure! My husband loved it and kids sat quietly and ate their bowls all gone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      The chicken broth (instead of water) is key. I also added a half-cup of brown sugar for more depth of flavor. Yummmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      What a fabulous recipe! I used pintos, omitted the salt & added a little flour to thicken during the last 30minutes of cooking. Not only did they clean their bowls, they complained I didn't make enough when it was gone. A serious keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Good taste, but I omitted the salt and still found this quite salty due to the ham and bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Absolutely wonderful! Thank you so much for such a great recipe. We both loved the flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      Okay, couldn't wait to make this. Low and behold, it IS the best ham and beans I've ever had. I made mine in a dutch oven and omitted the salt. It was salty enough without it. This recipe is a must try! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      This was fantastic! I used everything in this recipe. My family thought his was soooo tasty. They want let me make it any other way. Thanks for posting such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      Thanks for the idea! I left many things out such as the bacon, so I don't feel I can honestly review. But I really enjoyed the outcome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      Great recipe, made it the old fashion way, without the crock pot. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2005

      Thanks for a great receipe. My husband is always wanting me to make these but could never get this one down. Thanks,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2005

      GREAT recipe!! I didn't use bacon because I didn't have any and omitted the pepper. I didn't saute the ham and onion either, I just threw everything in the crockpot & turned it on. I got raves and requests for this recipe. Thanks a bunch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2004

      These are great for pot luck! To tell you how good they are I took home an empty crock pot from the church social and was asked to bring a little more next time. Even the children were eating their beans! Thanks MizEmerilLagasse!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham N' Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (445 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 428.6
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    18%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 29.7 mg
    9%
    Sodium 2278.6 mg
    94%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 16.1 g
    64%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 34.7 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes