10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A lovely quick and easy recipe. I'll make again but will play around with the toms and broth. It is very ingredient dependent, if that makes any sense. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dimensionally transcendental June 08, 2010

This is a great recipe and such a nice change from sandwiches or salads!!! Thank you so much. But instead of the cajin seasoning I used 1 tsp of Emeril's Bayou Blast seasoning from the Food Network that I always keep made up in my pantry. This is definately a keeper. I also used Hunts stewed tomatoes and I am MSG intollerant and Hunts has zero MSG in their products.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustKatHere July 23, 2012

this was a great dinner and a great way to use up some holiday ham! We added some frozen corn and spinach (needed to use up) to the mixture and served the rice separately. thanks for a wonderful dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ December 29, 2011

This recipe is awesome! Instead of using white wine I used chicken broth, also substituted jasmine rice for long grain rice. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akoyama April 09, 2010

I used leftover ham from New Years and items in my pantry and freezer. It came together in 15 minutes and had a nice, fresh flavor. We aren't quite talking the real Cajun thing here, but good enough for the effort and time expended! Because I was going to freeze it for future use, I added another can of tomatoes to give it a bit more moisture. Thanks for another good "quick" one for this time pressed lady!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dallas Chef W/Out Time January 07, 2009

Tasty, filling & quick after a day of heavy yard work. Doubled nicely & I added chopped parsley & a cup of frozen peas. Great as leftovers with poached eggs too! Thanks for posting Jellyqueen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend November 30, 2006

What I loved about this dish is the convenience of it. It was so easy to put together and quick to make. I actually used regular long grain rice instead of quick cooking rice. I also didn’t add Cajun seasoning. As a Cajun, I just add some garlic powder (in addition to the 2 cloves of garlic already in there) and cayenne pepper. The leftovers reheated very nicely as well. Thanks for the great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama_Jennie February 19, 2006

I got a great deal on ham and so am looking for lots of ways to use it! This was tasty. I added quick cooking brown rice and let it cook in the sauce for about 15 minutes (until it was done). We enjoyed it but found it a little more tomatoe-y then we would have liked. Next time I'll reduce the tomatoes I think. But it was fast and easy and had nice flavor. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit January 10, 2006

Great recipe. I did substitute a pound of pecan smoked sausage, because I didn't have any ham, and used cooked long grain rice instead of quick cooking rice. For the seasoning I used 2 tsp of Tony Chachere's. Then, I always garnish Cajun/Creole food with chopped green onions. Everyone said it was at least five stars - should be more. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan August 31, 2005

I tried this recipe to use up my left over Easter ham. It was delicious! I made one adjustment...I omitted the chicken broth from step 3 and used it to steam some brown rice, instead of using the quick white rice. Then added this in at step 6. Worked great! I used a red onion. Thanks for sharing a tasty and different way to use up that leftover ham! Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DogAndCatDoc April 01, 2005
Ham Jambalaya