56 Reviews

This was fabulous...just what the doctor ordered on a cold day. I used one huge smoked ham hock and a package of boneless country style pork ribs along with the 15 bean mix. I loved the combinations of the meat. I served this with fresh sliced baguettes. Yum

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Marie November 08, 2003

This is an editited review. I did try the soup with 15 bean soup also. I found the soup even better that way. Karen you are right. Great for lunches and fast dinners. I loved the simple preperation and ingredients.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ October 04, 2003

So easy and very good! I made this in my crockpot(didn't soak the beans, just washed them and threw them in). I put all the ingredients in my 5qt., filled it with water and cooked in on high for about 6 hours and it came out perfect. I used 2 cups chopped ham, used about 1/4c. minced onions, and 1 Tbsp. garlic salt. I also didn't have any bay leaves on hand, so, I just omitted that. I served this with cornbread that I made the night before, and it was a super easy Sunday lunch that was ready when I walked in the door from church! I will definitely be making this one again! Thanks for posting, Karen!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~cbw~ October 12, 2003

This recipe is delicious WITHOUT the oregano, or with just a hint of it. One tablespoon oregano? That's way too much! I used 1/2 tsp and any more would have been overpowering.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judi mills December 31, 2009

I love recipes like this. Very fast and easy to put together and yet gives out so much flavor and taste. This got 5 stars all around the table. I didn't have ham hocks but I planned on making this and used the bone and meat from a whole ham made two days before and it was fabulous! Thanks for the recipe and I'll be making this off and on throughout the winter that's for sure.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuck in Killbuck October 28, 2003

This is sooo good. I made it in my crockpot. Only had two packages of ham hocks so we added 1 cup of cubed ham. Loved the flavor and are freezing some for another night. Never had 15 beans before but we will from now on. Thank you for a delicious meal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skeeter October 20, 2003

This was absolutely wonderful. I made this with pinto beans only. I followed the directions exactly with the exception of adding some extra chopped ham since I only had 3 ham hocks. The soup was the best I have ever made. Thanks for this one that will be used a lot this winter.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ October 12, 2003

Made this last night in a crock pot. YUMMY! While I could not find ham hocks that were not already cooked, I chose prok shoulder ribs for the meat. Anyone who has ever had "mom's" ham hock and beans knows that the ham hock adds quite a bit of the flavor. But I just didn't want to buy a ham, it's just me in the house and large quantities of anything tend to go to waste. But next time, I'll get the ham. <br/><br/>I followed the recipe other than the meat, and added some red chili powder, turmeric, and cumin. I used a bit more onion and garlic, I don't measure those :) Added enough water to cover, and added about another cup and a half after about an hour. Really didn't need to add more, but, it didn't hurt. <br/><br/>Came out thick, like I like it, and tasty. <br/><br/>This is an excellent base recipe as is, and the 15 bean mix is a must! (I'm pretty sure my mom uses Lima beans only) But I would highly recommend using the ham hock, or left over ham. Other cuts of pork just don't add the flavor it needs. I'll be using ham only next time :)<br/><br/>Wonderful, simple, delicious. 5 stars Karen. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gary in AZ December 10, 2014

LOVE this recipe!! I only tweaked it a bit and added a teaspoon of red pepper flake. I also used pinto beans & New Mexico white beans because, I'm not a fan of red beans. It came out so buttery & delicious, perfect with a nice piece of crusty sourdough! This is definitely my new go-to New Years supper to make after my Christmas ham.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BuckarooPrincess December 03, 2012

Delicious! I spiced it up with some chili powder and a couple of Jalepenos in the last hour of cooking. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Other Sally January 07, 2010
Ham Hocks and Beans