Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ham Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham Chowder

    Average Rating:

    78 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-78 of 78

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2007

      Made this for the first time last night....it was awesome!! I brought it to work today and gave some to my friend and she LOVED it!!! It was easy to make!!! Worth making again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      I LOVE this chowder! It is so quick, easy and delicious. Made with left-over ham, it's very economical as well. Everyone loved this. Thanks Ann, for a great way to use up left-over ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      Wonderful! Made it tonight with leftover Christmas ham. My entire family loved it. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      I loved how easy this was! very yummy. Used creamed corn and added some bell pepper. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      I loved this recipe, giving it 4 stars because I added some extras. first I used one whole sweet onion, left out the potatoes, added more corn and ham, used 2 cans of mushroom soup. I wanted it thicker so I added a little heavy cream, seasoned with garlic powder, salt, pepper and Tony's Creole. Also added about 1 T of cream cheese and a touch of sugar to even out the flavors. I sent a bowl to my husband's grandmother who is in the hospital right now and she raved about it. Thanks for a great base recipe that is forgiving when you play around with the ingredients. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      I made this for my family, and friends, and they raved about it. Very easy to make, and tastes great. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      Great use for leftover ham. Delicious, simple, quick.....I used a can of cream corn and used some chicken broth to cook my potatoes in...No further addition of milk was necessary. This was a perfect Saturday night dinner...Thanks for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      I thought this was wonderful! I did use fresh potatoes and just added them to the soup. It was great! I also put a little cheese on top. So yummy! This one is a keeper! Thansk!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      This was a wonderfully quick & tasty chowder. My husband really enjoys chowders, but he likes them chalked full, so I doubled the ham & the potatoes, while leaving the other ingredients the same. We really enjoyed this. I did make some minor changes, similar to the ones others have made. I decided to try cream of asparagus soup instead. I also only had cream corn, so I used that. I then only used 2 cups of milk. This is truely a versitile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      Very simple soup but tasty. I cooked the potato in the soup. I added a little arrow root to thicken and a little bit of thyme. Topped it with bacon bits and sharp cheddar. Oh, I did use cream corn instead of regular corn, as was suggested. If you want to cut the calories, I made this with skim milk (2c)and reduced fat cream of mushroom. The ham I used was Healthy Choice from the deli, cut off in one thick slice. They only had the sweet ham and I wanted smoked but I was afraid the salt would be too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2004

      My family loved this recipe! I had leftover ham from Easter and I am not a huge ham fan, so I thought I would try to make something with the leftovers. We decided on this recipe. It was wonderful. I did use cream of celery since I am allergic to mushrooms and I used 1/2 cup cream and 2 cups milk. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe. It was creamy and very tasty. We will be making this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2004

      This is so good! I had to change some things though: we didn't have any potatoes, so I left them out (which was just fine!) While cooking the onion (no butter) I also cooked some green pepper. For the ham, I used julienned ham strips (they came that way!). Also, I only used 2 cups of milk (next time I'll use less). I added a dash of crushed red pepper flakes as well. (I followed a lot of people's suggestions!) It turned out delicious! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2003

      Excellent! Instead of the cooked potatoes, I used 3/4 cup of instant potato flakes. I like my chowders thicker, and this made it nicely thick. I also used 2 cups of ham because I am a 250lb meat eater. The amount of pepper I used was 1/2 teaspoon. My wife thought it was a little too hot, but I thought it was just right. Thanks for the keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2003

      For ease of preparation and cleanup, I microwaved the potatoes, then quartered them and added to the chowder. It turned out great. Very flavorful. For dinner, all I needed was a small bowl of this and a glass of Diet Coke!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2003

      A delightful winter soup! We ate it twice in one day! Added some cheese to top it off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      This was a different and tasty way to use up some of that leftover ham from Christmas. My husband loved it. The children liked it too. It is hard for me to find something that everyone in the house likes, but this did it. It was very creamy and so easy to put together! Thanks for the great new soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      My favorite kind of recipe,easy quick,filling and yummy!We enjoyed it very much just as written,and it is nice to know I can play with it and add other ingredients without ruining the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2002

      Wonderful soup! Great tasting and easy to make!This is the kind of recipe that makes me LOVE Recipezaar! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 418.7
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    48%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 68.3 mg
    22%
    Sodium 660.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 19.0 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites