Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ham Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham Chowder

    Average Rating:

    78 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 78

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2002

    • on December 31, 2013

      Wow, what a great recipe Ann. We really enjoyed this hearty and filling soup. I loved using the mushroom soup as a base for the soup, made it really quick and easy to make. I didn't have any corn so I used green peas and carrots, which worked really well in this dish. Thank you for sharing your recipe we have a new family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      This is only ok. Cheesy Ham and Potato Soup Cheesy Ham and Potato Soup is way better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      I added a handful of cheese and chicken stock to make it where we wanted it. This is the second time I am making this month. It did not last very long the 1st time. Great way for us to use leftover ham. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Prepared as written but found the result to be rather bland. All my ingredients were high grade - the ham wasn't leftover, I actually removed the portion needed for this before we ate the remainder on New Year's day. The basis of the recipe is okay, it just needs doctoring. So actually I'll say thanks for the recipe - I will be using it as a step-off point.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      This was way too easy and tastes awesome! Everyone loved it! I doubled the recipe and used a can of cream corn instead of second can of corn. I may have added a little to much water because I had to thicken it with some corn starch. Super easy and sooo creamy!! The possibilities on variations is endless! This is a keeper, thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      The taste was wonderful, however my batch turned out to soupy. I am going to add a can of cream corn to try to thicken up the left overs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Simple to put together but doesn't taste like a thrown together meal. Made it as directed, but I can see that this is one where if you have some vegetables in the crisper that you need to use up, it would work well for that too. Definitely going to put this one into rotation

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      A great way to use up a few Easter dinner leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This is the greatest. Start of doubling the recipe because you will want more right away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I do not eat chowder so I was courious to how my family would like it. It was so easy and everyone loved it!! It is truly the perfect size batch for using up left overs in a creative way!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      We love this soup!! Thank you for posting. I, too, didn't use milk and just used the water that the potatoes cooked in, for the desired nutrients. It was still very creamy. I added all the other ingredients to the potato pot, throwing in some extra veggies as well (diced green bell pepper and frozen peas). Like some of the other reviewers, I also used creamed corn instead of regular, fat-free instead of regular mushroom soup, EVOO instead of butter, and some low fat shredded cheese to top it. I added a little cayenne pepper for kick too. This soup was a big hit! I'm sure I'll be making this over and over again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      I used skim milk and reduced fat cream of mushroom soup and it was still creamy and delicious! Thank you for sharing, I really enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      i made a double recipe thinking i could have leftovers for lunch the next day. 4 people ate it and it never saw the fridge! easy peasy to put together and absolutely delicious. I added a bit more potato, milk and a handful of shredded carrots to use them up. Thanks for an easy recipe that tastes like it took all day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Great recipe for leftover ham. Delicious & easy. I also added celery, but also added fresh parsley & a few shots of hot sauce at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      So good. So easy. I added celery, too. I'm stuffed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      My family loved this. It was so easy to make. I followed most of the recipe, but added celery as someone else recommended. I wanted a little more soup than it made, so I added a little more of each thing and a can of cream of celery. I also used raw potatoes and browned them a little in the butter with the onions. I was so pleased with the taste. The ham was definatley a strong flavor in this. Thank you for posting this. It was easy to follow, but also easy to alter for my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      This recipe was really easy and tasty. I was afraid with such few ingredients, it wouldn't have any taste, but it was great. I had to let it cook down a bit so that it would be thicker, but I didn't add a thing. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Thank you for sharing this great recipe! I did make some changes to use up my Easter leftovers~ I boiled the ham bone and used some of the water and I added my mashed potatoes (2 1/2 cups)instead of the cream of mushroom soup. Other than that, I followed your directions and it is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      We liked this very much. Quick and easy. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 418.7
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    48%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 68.3 mg
    22%
    Sodium 660.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 19.0 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites