79 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is great. I added a handful of chopped green peppers and some fresh mushrooms with the onions. Also, after I started making this I discovered that there wasn't any milk, so I used frozen creamed corn instead of regular corn for creaminess and then added some of the water from cooking the potatos. This is a wonderful dish and I have now made it twice this week to use up leftover ham.

34 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl January 07, 2002

This was very excellent, my family loved it. I have already gave this recipe to a friend. It is fast and easy to make, short cooking time and makes a great meal if you are in a hurry, I added celery very thinly chopped and a cooked 2 carrot diced with the potato, to add color and taste to the dish. I used red potato keeptthe skin.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lessard Marj January 03, 2002

This is a wonderful so easy recipe to make, it was absolutly delicious. My husband raved about it, and how good it would taste with shrimp or chicken also. If you love chowder, you won't be disappointed !

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bourbonite January 17, 2002

This was good and very easy! Makes a great weeknight meal using leftover ham. I added green onions and shredded cheese to each bowl before serving. Thanks for the recipe!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Lloyd January 23, 2002

excellent and easy too. i added carrots,celery, an 1/8 tsp of red pepper flakes, fresh parsley, and chives. good chowder

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrwillard January 21, 2002

What great additions you all have thought of to the soup! Actually, mystery girl, I use canned milk ( 1 1/4 Cup) so I can use the potato water too. So full of nutrients. Haven't tried any of your additions yet. We still love it plain and simple, fast and cheap. It is our comfort food all winter. LOL Thanks for all the comments. What a nice group of people you all are. Ann

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann Arber January 08, 2002

We have made this soup 3 times now, once with ham and twice with chicken. The second time we used 2 cans of soup and the last time I used the cream style corn, which made the soup thicker. My family loves it and thanks you for sharing the recipe!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy Wilhelm February 27, 2002

Had some leftover ham and potatoes from Easter so I thought this would be a great recipe to try. It was definitely the right choice! After reading the other reviews, I used a can of creamed corn, canned milk, a little chopped celery and added two slices of American cheese. The results were really terrific! Very creamy and rich. So easy!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipewrestler April 05, 2002

ditto everyone else's positive comments. this soup was simple and perfect. i used about a cup of half n half instead of milk to make it creamier and added some grated carrot and cheddar. everyone should try this chowder, it's that good.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milla April 01, 2002

Have you ever observed 3 teenagers and a grown man trying to lick their bowl? This is wonderful: great flavor, texture,simple to make!. I normally follow the recipe exactly however, today I was trying empty the fridge and added 3/4 cup cooked floweerets from cauliflower, 1 1/2 ounce of cream cheese and 1/3 cup of sour cream at the end just melting the cheese and blending in the sour cream. WOW!! Thanks Ann for sharing this great recipe!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sammijo January 20, 2003
Ham Chowder