55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really good. Both kids even asked for seconds. I added 1/4 cup more milk and still thought the sauce was a bit too thick so next time I'll add even more. Also added garlic powder and extra pepper. This is definitely a keeper for us. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WINNIE246 January 25, 2011

Excellent! We all love scalloped potatoes and ham in our house. This dish is better than plan old scalloped potatoes. My son hates swiss cheese but just loved it in this recipe. I doubled the recipe and I'm glad I did. There's not alot of it left over. :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Dawn October 10, 2003

This was delicious! I cooked carrots and garlic with the onions and used cheddar and american cheeses. Omitted the breadcrumbs due to personal preference. My 4 year old loved it and the leftovers were just as good and didn't last long!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stonecoldcrazy October 06, 2013

This is a great recipe I use Swiss & sharp cheddar because my family loves sharp cheddar cheese & not big fans of Swiss. I followed other reviews of not as much flour & cut the amount in half. We all enjoyed it & great way to use up leftover ham. I also doubled recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ferfergirl75 April 09, 2013

I made it yesterday with leftover ham and my family LOVED IT. My husband said he can't wait for left overs today. :-) I made it exactly like the recipe except I added some season salt to the mix. D E L I C I O U S!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
galeperkins January 23, 2013

EXCELLENT. Like so many others, had lots of leftover Easter ham. This was one of the very best choices. I had some fresh asparagus frozen in the freezer and through that in to make it an easy, one dish meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CowboysChick April 15, 2012

This ended up much yummier than I expected. I added to the onion in the beginning: 2 stocks of chopped celery, 2 cloves garlic and 2 grated carrots. Since I didn't have any cooked potatoes hanging around for the potato cubes, I grated 2 large raw potatoes with my cheese grater instead and just mixed that into the sauce. I also used mozzarella cheese because that is what I had on hand. Baked in my stoneware for about 45 minutes and it turned out fantastic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen M. April 13, 2012

This was good. A good way to use up leftover ham and swiss cheese. I think next time I make this I would make a little more sauce. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea February 11, 2012

Like other reviewers I used leftover ham (Smithfield, spiral) and doubled the recipe. Instead of salt I added couple of ham bouillion (Knorr brand) which gave it a nice "hammy" taste, next time I will only use 1 cube of bouillion due to the saltiness. I didn't have Swiss cheese, therefore used shredded cheddar and velveeta to impart creaminess; used a bit more cheese than the recipe called for. Thought the amount of flour was too much as it would produce a too thick a sauce, so I added a bit more than 1/2 the amount. Instead of bread crumbs, I used crushed Ritz crackers. It all came out perfect and delightfully delicious. We all had seconds and I will place this recipe in my "keeper" file. This would make a great pot luck dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ForeverMama November 08, 2011

Dd made this for us on a football practice night. It tasted wonderful with the swiss cheese. We doubled the amount and just had a little bit leftover. We served this with green beans and homemade bread. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 13, 2011
Ham Casserole